Tell me what you think - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2006, 07:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Tell me what you think

I am pretty good with pc's but my last one was being a little peice of...well u get the idea, and the processor fried(never overclocked, but i think the bios update had something to do with it), so now im on a 333mhz compaq and its getting on my nervs, its way tooooooo slow so im upgrading everything but the case and the ps(i love my ps, its a 450watt athena, and the case is a 2001 hp pavilion 7940, and i like the way it looks, and why buy a new case if i already got one? )

Well here it goes(i aint heard of the mobo till now, but it sounds pretty good)

Motherboard

Processor

Ram

Heatsink/Fan

Case Fan

o and a note, this pc is next to my bed, so its gotta be quiet...
Heres the stuff i already got minus the case

Power Supply

80 gb hdd

40 gb hdd
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 07:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 306
Default

to tell u the truth its a pretty terrible setup
personally I would get a new hard drive(SATA)
and a seperate graphics card
__________________

__________________







Office 2007 for Sale
StylinGolfShoes is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 07:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

why are you going with that socket????? at least a 939, preferably a AM2

and you cant say your on a budget because socket 939 isnt much different in price.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 07:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

....that's a really terrible setup. 512mb ram? socket 754? IDE hard drives?
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 07:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

like i said tell me what you think...ill see wat they got for 939

Motherboard

Processor

and also those harddrives are the ones i already have, ill get new ones later, and i got a BFG GeForce 6200 LE thats being rma'ed as i type, ittl be here on thursday

EDIT: that aint crap compared to my old one...the mobo was a trigem cognac, 133 mhz fsb, 256mb ram(not ddr) 1.0 ghz p3 socket 370, 3 pci, no raid, 1 usb 1.1, ata 100, and the onboard audio was bad(thats how i got it) then the processor blew after i did the bios update(wish i didnt, i miss that peice of cr....) tho it did have one pci xpress 16, but that fried my card, so i had to rma the card and after i sent the card, the processor blew, so realy nething is better than that or what im using now. what im using now is a 98 compaq deskpro sp/sb series 100 mhz fsb, 333mhz p2, 192 mb ram, ata 66( i think) no usb, old *** keyboard, agp 1x, 2 pci slots, and 4 isa slots(o yea the processor is a slot 1)
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 07:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bmxfreakrider
like i said tell me what you think...ill see wat they got for 939

Motherboard

Processor
What are you planning to use the computer for? Just asking so i know what processor you should look for. And also, the second processor you showed is better and cheaper than the first one lol. Don't go for anything less than an AMD 64 3500+. That's a pretty decent processor in my opinion.
__________________
\"Next time there ain\'t gonna be no next time\"
Proximos is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 08:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

yea i used to be a big intel fan, until i discovered amd is a **** of a lot better, and im just gonna use it for light gaming, little bit of photo/video editing, and watch dvd's every now and then
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 08:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bmxfreakrider
yea i used to be a big intel fan, until i discovered amd is a **** of a lot better, and im just gonna use it for light gaming, little bit of photo/video editing, and watch dvd's every now and then
If you are using it for light gaming and mostly for DVD's and video/photo editing, i think you should do just fine with the 3500+. However, if you are willing to spend an extra hundred bucks i believe, you could get the 4000+.
__________________
\"Next time there ain\'t gonna be no next time\"
Proximos is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 08:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

like what game types, low graphic rpg's or HL2 COD2 CSS ??
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 08:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

I have some budget gamer PC parts for sale if you are interested. A good video card, a good motherboard, and a good processor.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.