Tell me about RAID0+1. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2008, 05:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default Tell me about RAID0+1.

I need more storage space as my 80 and 250GB and now full. I was thinking about replacing both drives for 4 7200.10 250GB drives and placing them in RAID0+1. Now the redundancy bit is what I don't get. If I lose 1 hard drive I know it is fine But what about 2? Can I lose any random 2? Can I still continue using the PC if one or 2 hard drives go and it be exactly the same as before, minus the redundancy? Anything else I need to know? I.e. does it work fine with Vista?

What I want to know is, am I better off going for 2x RAID 0 arrays and doing incremental backups to the other or having a RAID0 and a 500GB to backup to?

Thanks, Trif.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 09:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Tell me about RAID0+1.

I'd recommend a RAID5 array over RAID0+1 because it requires 3HD's and performs same as RAID0+1 without the need of an extra HD (it requires 4)
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 09:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default Re: Tell me about RAID0+1.

With the added cost of needing an expensive RAID controller to get half decent write speeds due to working out parity.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 06:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: Tell me about RAID0+1.

The parity for a RAID5 is a simple XOR function and is *very* processor effecient.

You can lose two drives in a RAID0+1, but not any two. If you lose a drive and it's mirror, you lose all your data.

RAID5 will give you more storage for your $, run just as effecient as a RAID0+1, and protect you from a single drive failure.
__________________
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 09:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default Re: Tell me about RAID0+1.

And the cheapest PCIE RAID5 compatible card is £90. Might as well go for RAID01 which can take up to 2 drives failing, works with integrated Nvidia RAID and uses HTT instead of PCIE.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 11:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Tell me about RAID0+1.

just get some 7200.11 drives and run raid1
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 12:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default Re: Tell me about RAID0+1.

Was also thinking abou that. 2x 500GB is cheaper than 4x 250GB.

Overclockers UK Forums - View Single Post - Post your hard drive benchmarks!

Eek... lol.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 12:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: Tell me about RAID0+1.

The cheapest RAID5 controller is £90? That seems odd, considering my motherboard has onboard RAID5 support and it was only $120 USD.
__________________
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 12:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default Re: Tell me about RAID0+1.

My motherboard doesn't. 0, 1, 01 and JBOD.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 12:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Tell me about RAID0+1.

dude, get some scsi drives and a scsi contoller. you're computer will sound like a ****ing jet.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAIDS, Raptors and WD 750GB MacDaddyGator New Systems | Building and Buying 12 08-11-2007 11:33 PM
Pros and Cons for a RAID 0, 1 or 1+0 in a gaming rig? Bot2011 New Systems | Building and Buying 11 06-13-2007 11:09 AM
How do i setup a RAID0 Array on vista veg1992 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 05-12-2007 08:42 PM
Raid0 TheMajor Microsoft Windows and Software 12 05-10-2007 01:28 PM
Looking for Second Opinion on Custom-Built Rig Cunjo New Systems | Building and Buying 27 04-05-2007 04:24 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.