Tell me about this Mobo/Processor (Total noob) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2007, 12:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Rakie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 228
Default Tell me about this Mobo/Processor (Total noob)

Asus M2V-MX SE Motherboard
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000 AM2 CPU


Also this is probably a really silly question, but the "x2" means there are two processors, meaning this is a dual core, or is this a model number ?

Also, it says it's a 3.0GHz speed, does that mean its two 1.5, or two 3.0 ?



Currently, i have:

Asus A8V-VM MOBO
Athlon 64 3200 CPU

What kind of performance upgrade can I expect ?
__________________

Rakie is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 12:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Tell me about this Mobo/Processor (Total noob)

Yes, X2 is a dual core processor. There are two cores, each at 3 GHz, but you cant add them together.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 12:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Rakie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 228
Default Re: Tell me about this Mobo/Processor (Total noob)

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Yes, X2 is a dual core processor. There are two cores, each at 3 GHz, but you cant add them together.
And a dual core 3.0ghz processor is how much more powerful then a single 3.0?
Rakie is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 12:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: Tell me about this Mobo/Processor (Total noob)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rakie View Post
And a dual core 3.0ghz processor is how much more powerful then a single 3.0?
depends. most apps don't use both cores, but in most games, you should see at least another 10 FPS added on
__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 12:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Tell me about this Mobo/Processor (Total noob)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rakie View Post
And a dual core 3.0ghz processor is how much more powerful then a single 3.0?
It's actually a noticable difference and it's going to be standard in the future.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 12:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Rakie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 228
Default Re: Tell me about this Mobo/Processor (Total noob)

Quote:
Originally Posted by psp_crazy1 View Post
depends. most apps don't use both cores, but in most games, you should see at least another 10 FPS added on
So, is this MOBO/Processor pretty decent ?


I'll be using the PC for pro-tools (Full quality CD editing) and gaming.

Im going to attend Musicians Institute, and i'll be recording and mixing entire CD's with this PC.
Rakie is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 05:49 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Tell me about this Mobo/Processor (Total noob)

What is your budget ?

Are you getting your parts from newegg ?
maroon1 is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 02:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Rakie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 228
Default Re: Tell me about this Mobo/Processor (Total noob)

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
What is your budget ?

Are you getting your parts from newegg ?

About $200 for a mobo/processor. I was getting my parts off pricewatch, that mobo/processor will run me $240 after tax and shipping, with a stronger heatsink.



I really appreciate all the help guys, I have to make this decision kinda soon (Build and running before January) and I really don't have much of an idea of what Im doing.
Rakie is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 02:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Tell me about this Mobo/Processor (Total noob)

i dont know about that mobo. ive never heard of it, so i cant really give an informed opinion. but, me never hearing of it tells me something, lol.
it is micro ATX, you know that, right?
the cpu is good, one of AMDs best.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 02:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Rakie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 228
Default Re: Tell me about this Mobo/Processor (Total noob)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
i dont know about that mobo. ive never heard of it, so i cant really give an informed opinion. but, me never hearing of it tells me something, lol.
it is micro ATX, you know that, right?
the cpu is good, one of AMDs best.

hehe, I don't even know what a Micro ATX is ;p


I wasn't lying when I said (Total noob) Here is the MOBO on Newegg (I think this is it) Newegg.com - ASUS M2V-MX SE AM2 VIA K8M890 Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail


EDIT: Ok, i read up on this all, I kinda get it. Less pci slots, and its not SLI capable (But thats no problem for me). I read this Mobo is really good and very easy to install, and since i've read that AMD processor is one of the better one's this seems decent.

The only other thing i've read is that this MOBO doesn't support overclocking, or something like that (not sure how it works, but I know what its capable of) so that means, I wouldn't be able to increase the AMD's performance ?

Sorry for all the questions guys.
__________________

Rakie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Noob wants to loose (3rd party) XPpro + switch to Linux Jougukny Linux and Open Source 6 11-01-2007 02:45 AM
Noob installing question mikee Linux and Open Source 4 10-27-2007 04:08 PM
yes this is a noob question Nick Microsoft Windows and Software 5 10-21-2007 12:56 PM
lol some noob is trying to make a japanese blog advancedgeek Off Topic Discussion 7 07-03-2007 02:49 PM
I'm an Excel noob, can I make it do the following somehow.... rocket1406 Microsoft Windows and Software 13 06-27-2007 02:18 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.