Taking my system apart - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2007, 09:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default Taking my system apart

I just opened up my case and man its pretty dusty. Can i take apart everything take my processor out, graphics card, ram, etc without it messing up my system or no?
__________________

__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 09:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421
Default

It can't harm... as long as you put everything back in place.

Some parts of the motherboard must remain in place but I don't think you would want to clean there...
__________________

Phrantic is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 09:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default

Ok cool so i dont have to worry about my system messin up if i pretty much take everything off of mobo?
__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 09:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421
Default

Nope... just be sure to treat the parts carefully and ground yourself before you start taking it all out. You don't want electrostatic discharge to wreak havoc upon your system, although the chance is very slim. Basically if you properly take it out and put it back in without damaging any parts, it won't change anything.
Phrantic is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 09:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default

Alrite thank you
__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 10:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default

Yeah not much of a point to take off the ram or anything. :P Just blow them off!
augest is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 10:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

Remember to apply new thermal paste if you take off the heatsink to your cpu!
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 12:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 280
Default

orrrr, you could spend 3 dollars on a small can of compressed air. and save yourself time aswell. Why do you think Tiger Woods doesn't mow his own lawn?

TIME IS MONEY
__________________
updated sig soon
GreenMachine is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 01:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 115
Default

Or a garage air compressor if it's really dusty.
flyboychuckles is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 01:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

don't forget to wash them thoroughly in warm soapy water before putting them back into the case! LOL (j/k)
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.