system help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-2006, 07:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 25
Default system help

Hey i didnt relly know where to put this thread so i just put it here. I jst bought my new gaming system it got her today and i know its a pretty good system and it should b able to play all the new games with out a flaw. i just dont know exactly how to set the setting. i dnt relly know anything about resolution or anything. so i know ppl here do and i want to get full use out of my system. i also want to know wut should my settings be set to for my games... cod2 bf2 and oblivion. please some1 help me out here. Here are my specs:

OS: Microsoft Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005
CPU: Intel Pentium D Processor 940 feat. two processing cores (3.20GHz, 800MHz FSB
Memory: 2048MB PC5300 Dual-Channel DDR2 667MHz SDRAM 2x1024MB modules
Video Card: ATI Radeon X1900 XT CrossFire Edition w/512MB DDR3 memory
HardDrive: 160GB Serial ATA II/300 7200rpm hard drive w/ 8MB cache
Monitor: FPD2185W 21" Black Widescreen High-Definition LCD Analog/Digital Performance Flat Panel Display

ryanb1818 is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 07:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 9

Wow, where to start? Well, right-click on your desktop and click "Priperties" then click on the "Settings" tab. This is where you can change your screen resolution and color depth. I would suggest starting with 32bit color depth and 1280x1024 resolution.

Play some games with those setting and see what you think. If you notice the games slowing down or looking choppy then you'll want to drop your resolution down. If the games play well then move on to the last step.

The last step is tweaking the advanced video options in each of the games you play. Getting to the menu will be a little different in each game and I'm not going to explain each option, but feel free to tweak away.

If you turn all the advanced options to the max and still get a great frame rate then feel free to try a higher resolution.

KDogg82 is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 11:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
suicide007's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: inside.
Posts: 279

I would max all settings. all of them. Except the sound stuff (eax and related) because it looks like you are using onboard sound. If you notice any strange popping sound, get a Creative sound blaster audigy from, its only $23.00. But if the sound runs smooth already, dont bother with a sound card.
Intel Conroe e6750
SLI EVGA 8800gts KO's
4GB Patriot DDR2 800mhz
22" Widescreen Sceptre LCD monitor 5ms
OCZ 700W psu
320gb seagate w/ perpindicular tech.
Creative SB X-Fi Fatality
Thermaltake Armor: Extreme Edition
suicide007 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.