Is this system any good? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2005, 10:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 26
Default Is this system any good?

lookin for a budget pc and i dont wanna self build, managed to find a pc with this spec and wanna know if its gonna be any good. Im gonna be using it for CS source, C&C zero hour, america's army and maybe some higher spec FPS

AMD Athlon 64 bit 3200+
1024mb Dual Channel DDR
160gb 8mb 7200rpm SATA
256Mb Radeon 9800PRO

i know very little about the graphics card which is my main concern

if thats crap does anyone know of any sites selling good value base units? (UK ones if possible)
__________________

TomS is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 10:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

well first of all i would recommend self building, its much easier than dealing with something else some one else built. for example you will know the pc really well lol.

anyways, if the cpu is socket 939 i like it.
1gig of memory is ok make sure its in dual channel, although i would reccomend 2 gigs in dual channel for heavy gaming.
the hd is good plenty of space, with 8mb cache which is great
and the video card is a dinosuar, its very old and cannot run graphical games like fear a worth of sheet. get a 6600gt/6800 itleast because the 9800pro is old news, but i guess it will work some what ok for halo 1 hehehe. :::exagerating::::
__________________

burned-ati is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 11:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 26
Default

heres another system ive found, slightly more expensive but with a better processor and graphics card:

AMD Athlon¬ô 64 3500+
1024MB DDR400 Memory - PC3200 (2x512)
160GB Serial ATA Hard Drive with 8MB Buffer
256MB nVIDIA GeForce 6600 LE - TV-Out + DVI - PCI-Express

is that better?
TomS is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 11:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

That graphics card is worse.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 11:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 26
Default

lol

im such a n00b, cheers for tellin me!

512MB ATI Radeon X1300 Pro is that better?
TomS is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 11:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

that one is one of the best on the market, i would suggest building your machine, jhere is my rig:

3800+ X2 AMD athlon 64
160 GB Seagate
500W Antec PSU
7800GT CO
2 Gigs of Valueselect RAM (May change or upgrade)
1 DVDRW and 1 DVD/CDRW

All this for about 1250 or so
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.Ē ~ Samuel Jackson

ďOmnis vir est fortunae faberĒ
JoshSB is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 11:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 26
Default

mines comin in at £610 at the mo

and ive neva built my own pc before so wud probly screw it up
TomS is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 11:56 AM   #8 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TomS
512MB ATI Radeon X1300 Pro is that better?
Thats the worst one yet.

Quote:
Originally posted by TomS
mines comin in at £610 at the mo

and ive neva built my own pc before so wud probly screw it up
That's what we're here for. It's very simple actually.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 12:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 26
Default

ok ok, just rang my mate and he says he'll help me put it together

i can spend around £500, 600 at a push, what should i get??
TomS is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 12:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Both machines look great except the video cards. look for those exact setups but with at least a 6600GT
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.