Swapping CPU's.. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2008, 03:14 AM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
baron5's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984

if u can unlock it that would be great. i wish i new that when i had my old computer(HP), although i doubt there was any updates for that old piece of junk.

I doubt it will have support for AM2+, if it says AM2 on your socket thats all it is.

hopefully u can unlock it using the asus utility then u can pretty much just up the multi without even changing the voltage. easy o/c. since there s no more voltage going in it wont even heat up.

if anything will stop u from playing crysis on high itll be ur cpu. my stsme is ok in single but not great in open maps (online), but with a 9800gtx u might experience a bit of a set back because of ur cpu

<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito

baron5 is offline  
Old 09-01-2008, 09:05 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
veg1992's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Swapping CPU's..

Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
how many topics are there on this...?
you need to download the asus update utility for windows, from the asus website. it will allow you to flash your bios without a floppy or any of that crap. and i think if you get the flash to take, it may unlock it? i dont know for sure, never tried it.
lol 3...

I'm about to merge all 3

I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.

.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-01-2008, 11:17 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 202
Default Re: Swapping CPU's..

Alright cool. If i can find the effin cable for my camera ill post up some pics. Yes, it is an M2n-La. Weird, I know. The stats are all diff from the M2n-lx that newegg has, so I dont know. I'll prbly just leave it alone and see what happens with the 9800gtx+ in there.

Jtumble2 is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 06:49 AM   #14 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
Hussein19891's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Swapping CPU's..

Originally Posted by Jtumble2 View Post
How do I check that out? the white box under my cpu says SOCKET AM2. So, any other ways to find out?

Dang, thanks for that find. Thats pretty nice.

There isn't really a noticeable decrease in performance from the 3.0 to the 2.8 is there?

And both will play crysis fine right? Or do I not even need to upgrade? And I found a pretty good cpu cooler for like 25$ shipped, so the BE would be fine.


These things all run different voltages.. I can't change that in BIOS, so will the mobo auto adjust the voltage if I throw in the new proc? And the whole 90nm and 65nm thing..does that matter for compatibility?

Btw, how can I check what my cpu's voltage is at right now.. Should I just go into BIOS and check that out? Thanks
Doesn't the fact its 65nm mean it has more transistors there for its some what faster? The only problem with that would be, that the 6000+ has 1MB of L2 Cache Per Core while the 54000+ BE has only 512Kb per Core. So that would pretty much make up for it being older technology.

A 5800+ will remain much cooler and will work without any bios update or any crap of that sort. While at the same time performing pretty much about the same as a 6000+ would. Maybe like 2 or 3 frames difference in games here and there. But nothing too noticeable to worry about.

Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 03:46 PM   #15 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
Nagasama's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Swapping CPU's..

Originally Posted by Hussein19891 View Post
The only problem with that would be, that the 6000+ has 1MB of L2 Cache Per Core while the 54000+ BE has only 512Kb per Core. So that would pretty much make up for it being older technology.
not really.

"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading CPU's (compatibility) Timaphillips New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-18-2008 12:55 PM
Intel delay launch of 3 CPU's because AMD poses no threat Oreo Off Topic Discussion 8 12-20-2007 03:57 PM
How do I compare CPUs? Dual Core, Core 2 Duo, Quad Core... 706 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 12-05-2007 07:27 AM
New Processors.... CPU's..... OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 8 11-30-2007 04:49 PM
CPU's joshuaplatz New Systems | Building and Buying 6 10-29-2007 07:22 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.