Suggestions on Purchase--Cloud/Ext. HD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login

Old 07-28-2014, 06:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Default Suggestions on Purchase--Cloud/Ext. HD

So I recently had a WD 4TB Cloud crash on me, and I lost about 400 movies... I'm fairly new to the use of clouds and external hard-drives to share information for third party devices. Does anyone have any suggestions; I'm currently looking at a Seagate-product, but the reviews seem poor. The primary use would be sharing and streaming movies onto my Samsung Smart TV (has wifi). Does anyone have any suggestions? Should I even bother with a cloud? Or just get an external hard-drive (but a pain to unplug and replug to update and add movies/files).

-Steve

Steevis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 07:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker

Default Re: Suggestions on Purchase--Cloud/Ext. HD

I'd say just stick to a drive.

Cloud storage can be expensive for a lot of space, and if you have slow internet streaming a movie can be a PITA.

Plus there's the possibility that the cloud storage company may think you do not rightfully own the digital movies.

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 07:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru

Default Re: Suggestions on Purchase--Cloud/Ext. HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
I'd say just stick to a drive.

Cloud storage can be expensive for a lot of space, and if you have slow internet streaming a movie can be a PITA.

Plus there's the possibility that the cloud storage company may think you do not rightfully own the digital movies.