Suggestions for my first PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2006, 08:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Default Suggestions for my first PC

Is there anything I should change on this system?
And is everything compatible?

Thanks for the help

The PC:

AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ / 2MB Cache / 2000MHz FSB / Socket 939 / Dual-Core / Processor with Fan

Asus A8N 32-SLI-Deluxe NVIDIA Socket 939 ATX Motherboard / Audio / PCI Express / SLI / Dual Gigabit LAN / S/PDIF / USB 2.0 / Serial ATA / Dual RAID

ATI Radeon X1900 XT / 512MB GDDR3 / PCI Express / Dual DVI / VIVO / Video Card

Western Digital / Caviar SE / 250GB / 7200 / 8MB / ATA-100 / EIDE / OEM / Hard Drive

Ultra / X-Finity / 600-Watt / ATX / Dual 80mm Fan / SATA-Ready / SLI Ready / Black / Power Supply

Aspire Silver/Silver X-Plorer ATX Mid-Tower Case with Clear Side, Fan Controller, Front USB and Firewire Port

NEC ND3550A / 16x8x16x DVD+RW / 16x6x16x DVD-RW / 8x DVD+R DL / 6x DVD-R DL / 48x32x48x CD-RW / Black / Dual Layer / OEM DVD Burner with Software

Corsair TWINX Dual Channel 2048MB PC3200 DDR 400MHz Memory (2 x 1024MB)

Total: CND$2,588.12 including taxes and shipment (2,275.67 US dollars)

-VX- is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 08:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 154

Very nice PC. Yes, everything is compatible. That rig is gonna kick a$$ playing games.

fuz_master is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 08:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2

Thank you
-VX- is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 08:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 350

Get Value RAM instead, and an opteron 165.
Kitire is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 09:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7

Originally posted by Kitire
Get Value RAM instead, and an opteron 165.
if he can afford good ram then he should go with it in case he ever oc's. and if you get the 165 your gonna OC it, so why not keep the ram he has?
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 09:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Ridlyn's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920

Unless you're building this rig, in order to oc dont get teh opty 165. If you just want to some mild ocing just keep the x2 4400+. It'll keep you very satisfied until you decide its time to oc.

Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.