Student - High end PC building

Status
Not open for further replies.

NutterzUK

Baseband Member
Hey there,
I built my own PC about 4 years ago, enjoyed it and kept the comp for about 3 years ( on a laptop now ).

When I go to uni, as i'm studying computing and management, I want a fast, reliable computer. I've always been into them since tiny, always wanted my computer that little faster, always been upgrading the comp .. you know the feeling.
I'm going to be on it a lot when i'm not on the laptop.

Here is the scenario....
I have about $2k in my online poker account which I play to make money and will as a student. I'm wanting to keep that but withdraw when I win so to keep my bankroll and build a desktop. - I want it to be able to play games.. it just wants to be a monster.

I want to end up spending about £800 on it. I can afford that. I have the monitor, mouse and keyboard which is fine.

Today I have been over fixing someones computer and have been given an age old computer... 256 mb ram.. 1.8 Ghz yada yada.

My plan is to slowly upgrade the computer, although I know the mobo won't be upgradable enough. So.... 1st stop...

New motherboard - Requires new RAM, new processor and maybe new PSU - most expensive step I know.
I have about £500-600 to spend at the moment on getting started. I can live with on board graphics for a while, can live with the 40gb hard drive it has... and can live with the ****ty case.

What would you suggest? I want something that is going to be extremely upgradeable motherboard wise. Which processor is going to run the longest? ( It wants to be a quad core ).
Would I be wise in buying one with dual PCI-e slots?
The motherboard being the main part and the part that is going to allow me to keep upgrading... what is the best one I could buy for a reasonable price at the moment? ( remembering I need RAM and a processor ).
Should I buy a motherboard kit from savastore?