Student build - UK

Status
Not open for further replies.

marksct

Solid State Member
Hi guys

I built a pc for my family a few years ago, now i need a new one for uni.

due to being a student my buget is tight, BUT i want this pc to last the 4 years of my course
perhaps with some upgrading

i wont be overclocking much, if at all, since i dont think its worth the effort

so the question is, i7 or AMD Phenon?
clearly AMD is cheaper, but after 4 years will the pc still be around med?
would i need to replace the mb and cpu in a few years?

planning to do some gaming (limited to cod6, total war, diablo 3)
but mainly just working. was thinking about a 4900 for the gpu... would this run cod6 well?

So the budget is about £700 with no monitor/keyboard/os - if it can be less then that is good
(i think ebuyer is the cheapest UK site - is this correct?)

thanks for all help!!!!

An i7 for a student build for around £700 is going to be tight. A 4870 can run COD6 max no problem so a 4900 should be fine.

Im not from the UK so Im not sure about the ebuyer site.

Just my two cents

ebuyer has fairly good prices on average but you should at least check scan and aria. You aren't going to get an i7 build for less than £700 but it doesn't matter what you buy now it will be old and slow in 4 years time - thats just how it goes.
If you want to make a computer last for 4 years the best thing you can do is spend some money on a decent case and PSU and make sure your data is as safe as it can be from failure - particularly important on a student's working machine. That will ensure the PC will at least works for as long as possible.

with that budget you are best off going with a phenom II X3 and the GPU you are talking about is most likely the 4890 there is no such thing as a 4900 ;)