Starting to research building my first computer

Status
Not open for further replies.

VaultDwellnChick

Beta member
I've never built one before but i want a gaming computer and the general consensus is that building it yourself is going to give you more bang for your buck...plus i can brag about it if it works :)

I was reading a couple sites that say for intel, the best cpu is intel 2 quad processor. I don't know how updated that is because a lot of new computers i've looked at have i7. Is i7 the new better CPU?

I haven't decided between AMD and Intel yet. Have a lot of research to do.

I want to play fallout and Elder scrolls type games on it on max settings. So any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks!

I guess my biggest question is if i should build the computer around the CPU or find the best Video card i want and build it around that instead...

Core 2 quad is not intel's best chip. I would say an i7-930 is the best intel chip to get right now without spending way to much. Personally, I like AMD and you should consider either the x4 955 or maybe the new x6 processors. I just think AMD is a better value for slightly lower performance.

How much are you looking to spend? I think it's much better to plan your build around what processor you want, since any graphics card will fit as long as the slot is right. But if you plan to run more than one graphics card you will want to check that the motherboard you decide to get is either Crossfire ready (ATI) or SLI ready (nVidia).

Edit:
This is an interesting read. Intel's i7-930 compared to AMD's new x6 1090t.
ARTICLE

I would say the i7 930, it's the chip I'm going with for my new build.
Newegg.com - Intel Core i7-930 Bloomfield 2.8GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Desktop Processor