SSD's - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2008, 04:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default SSD's

hey peoples been a month or 3 since i got my new pc so with chrismass comming up i was thinking of getting something to go with it and the 2 things that came to mind is either a decent monitor or a solid State drive

so i'm back with questions on them

the main question is would it load games fast i.e faster load times ect, the thing i would be doing to it is adding it to my rig (in my sig) and just putting games on it, nothing else just games

well thats about it, i've just drew a blank on what i was thinking (was reading something and the other questions went) so when i finerly think the question again it will be posted (i hope)
__________________

__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 04:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: SSD's

SSD's are awesome, you'll get great speeds in terms of loading times (of Windows and games..) But usually a small spaced one will cost upwards of $200... I'd recommend RAID0 them so that you can put them together..

But I would be worth it if you hate Hard Drive thrashing in games
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 04:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: SSD's

pick up 2 32gb models and raid 0 them itl fit a few games and your oc nicely.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 05:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: SSD's

ok i got space in pc for 1 2.5" drive so i was thinking just either a 64GB or a 120GB

ok so the question is which of these would you pick

Solid state hard drive - Aria Technology

i havent got a set price as of yet but i would be looking at 150 or so min / max < i dont know middle of the stack there
__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 09:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 187
Default Re: SSD's

I wouldnt pick any of those untill the prices come down. If your dead set on buying one now, more space is always better. 120g x2 in raid would be my choice
__________________
Intel Q9550 ( 3.84ghz OC on air)
Asus Rampage Formula
OCZ Platinum dual channel memory 8gig
Vista Ultimate 64bit
Radeon 4870 512mb

[img]//www.speedtest.net/result/396631319.png[/img]
Michowski is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 04:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: SSD's

i'm in no great need of space i just want speed **** i got 2x 500GB drives in my rig so i think there good enough for stuff

i think i might pick out a few reviews on the 120gb ones and go from there
__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 04:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
What choice did I have?..
 
SuxoR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: TX (Soon CA)
Posts: 412
Send a message via AIM to SuxoR
Default Re: SSD's

Aren't you supposed to be put just your OS on the SSD? Or the games?

Forgot which it was...:P
SuxoR is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 06:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: SSD's

Either or, most RAID them and throw the games and OS on in it
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 11:00 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: SSD's

putting the gam on it, hear it has better load times ect for them if there on there
__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 12:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: SSD's

SSDs makes windows boot almost instantly. Your pc will take longer to POST. Games get a lot fast too. The other day Newegg had a deal for OCZ SSDs, $80 for 32gb models. Its over now, you shoulda been here for that you would have scored nicely. I would get two 32gb SSDs and throw them in RAID like Vern said.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSD: Whats in the future? dhgunit New Systems | Building and Buying 12 08-21-2008 08:19 PM
scsi and ssd questions Luke Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 06-14-2008 04:51 AM
Understanding the "Solid State Drive" lordkurai System Upgrades 5 01-26-2008 02:06 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.