SSD or Velociraptor? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2010, 06:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: SSD or Velociraptor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alive.777 View Post
Go with the SSD. I'am using the Intel X25M 80GB SSD. You can download an SSD management tool which defragments and looks after your SSD, you just run it once a week and your SSD will not decrease in performance. It only works for the Intel X25 series of SSD's though. BTW iam Aussie to, I buy from PC Case Gear, great site, cheap prices.
You should never defragment a SSD.

Most of the other manufacturers have tools as well but you only need them if you are running an older OS like XP or Vista that doesn't support TRIM.
__________________

__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 08-10-2010, 06:18 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 13
Default Re: SSD or Velociraptor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CalcProgrammer1 View Post
I have a SATA III (6gb/s) WD Caviar Black with 64MB cache and I don't mind the load times. Windows boots fast and games load reasonably quickly. It isn't lightning speed but it only cost $80 for 640GB, leaving room to buy a good CPU and GPU which are much more important when gaming.
Could you find a link to this drive if its still around?
__________________

RANGAdude is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 05:55 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Alive.777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: QLD, Australia
Posts: 201
Default Re: SSD or Velociraptor?

@ puddle jumper, iam aware that u never defrag SSD's, i own one!!!!!! but this program keeps my SSD up to speed, I've had it for 1 year now and its read and write speeds are the same as when i bought it, Thanks to this program (Intel Solid-State Drive Toolbox) The description says "Optimizes Intel's 34nm SSD's Including Trim Functionality" i run it once a week.
__________________
--//((SYSTEM))\\--
Core i7 930 @ 3.7ghz --- ASUS GTX 580 Voltage Tweak Edition @ Stock --- Gigabyte X58A UD7R --- 6GBs Corsair XMS 3 1600MHz --- HAF 932 --- Corsair HX850W --- Zalman Cnps10x Extreme Cooler --- Intel X25M 80GB SSD --- Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB --- Samsung BX2450 1080p.
Alive.777 is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 07:22 PM   #14 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: SSD or Velociraptor?

Ah, ok. The SSD Toolbox basically is a manual way to run TRIM if you are using a OS that doesn't support it. If you are on Windows 7 the OS should take care of the SSD on it's own but running the Toolbox too can't hurt.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 07:32 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: SSD or Velociraptor?

Windows 7 will issue the TRIM command anytime you empty your recycle bin. It may not actually run the command until you reboot though.

You have Windows 7 and a New SSD, How do you know if TRIM is working?

Go to the Command Prompt and type:

fsutil behavior query disabledeletenotify
<Enter>

DisableDeleteNotify = 1 (Windows TRIM commands are disabled)
DisableDeleteNotify = 0 (Windows TRIM commands are enabled)

How do I Enable TRIM?

Go to the Command Prompt and type:

fsutil behavior set disabledeletenotify 0
<Enter>


How do I Disable TRIM?

Go to the Command Prompt and type:

fsutil behavior set disabledeletenotify 1
<Enter>
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 10:09 PM   #16 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: SSD or Velociraptor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
Windows 7 will issue the TRIM command anytime you empty your recycle bin. It may not actually run the command until you reboot though.
what happens if you never empty the recycle bin?
I always use shift+delete (skips the file going to recycle bin step, and just permanently deletes file. well not exactly permanent, but you know what I mean.)
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 08-13-2010, 05:51 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: SSD or Velociraptor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat.Clown View Post
what happens if you never empty the recycle bin?
I always use shift+delete (skips the file going to recycle bin step, and just permanently deletes file. well not exactly permanent, but you know what I mean.)
I really don't know for sure, but I would assume it still initiates the TRIM command as either way a file/files are being marked as deleted.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I JBOD with a single WD Velociraptor + 2 40g HDDs?? Antec-User Overclocking and Modding 10 12-11-2009 04:40 PM
Seagate > Velociraptor? Benchmarks inside! hikaricloud Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 20 07-22-2009 06:17 PM
Velociraptor and RAID dark strike1 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 02-15-2009 10:19 AM
WD Velociraptor on newegg UA_Iron New Systems | Building and Buying 10 05-30-2008 04:05 AM
Quick VelociRaptor Review veg1992 New Technology and Products 9 05-02-2008 07:21 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.