SSD Installation Questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2009, 04:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SC
Posts: 68
Default SSD Installation Questions

Got my SSD drive today. I guess it's an OEM version. Nothing came with it, no box, not CD, etc.
I know I have to buy brackets thought I had some, but I don't.
anyways..Is there anything different in formatting SSD Drives? Or do I format like I always do?

I guess this is a 2 part question. I have windows 7 and all my software on Caviar SATA drive.what is the easiest way to move everything over to the SSD and give the SSD the C Drive letter? Just completely reinstall AGAIN?

Once I formated the drive how do I turn it into C drive? It's probably a stupid question, but I never really turned d drive into c drive...so I am not sure if it'll be simple once I get to that point.

Thanks
__________________

MenschX is offline  
Old 11-13-2009, 06:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SC
Posts: 68
Default Re: SSD Installation Questions

so I temporary installed it. it's formated with windows 7 default settings. [wow..it formatted in like 1 second]
now what?

go into the BIOS and set it so the new SSD drive boots first?
then install windows?
after...change the old C drive to another drive letter?
after... change the new SSD drive to C drive?

or what's next? Not sure if it's really as easy as it sounds. I am guessing my windows upgrade wont install that easy on a brand new drive.
or will it find the PREVIOUS windows installation on the "OLD" c drive?
__________________

MenschX is offline  
Old 11-13-2009, 07:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: SSD Installation Questions

Hi,

What capacity is your old hard drive and new SSD hard drive? How much data do you have on your old hard drive?

The easiest thing to do is clone your old hard drive, so that all the contents is copied over to your new drive. You should then be able to boot into Windows on your new drive, just like before.

Here's a list of free HDD cloning software: http://www.thefreecountry.com/utilit....shtml#imaging

Macrium Reflect FREE Edition in particular is a good disk imaging software to use that's free.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 11-13-2009, 07:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SC
Posts: 68
Default Re: SSD Installation Questions

my "old" drive is a 1 tb drive. Not even close to full. I have around 50 gigs on this drive right now. most of my data is on a second drive.

anyway m ssd is only 80 gb, but it should be enough for widows, photoshop, and dreamweaver. those are the programs I use most often.

I can just clone my old drive onto the new drive without driver problems etc?
that would be great

trying it now..
THANK YOU!!!!!!
MenschX is offline  
Old 11-13-2009, 08:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: SSD Installation Questions

Cloning to a SSD isn't as straightforward as cloning to a hard drive, by default it won't be aligned correctly which will hurt performance. There are workarounds (I can't remember any specifics) but a clean install would probably be easier.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 11-13-2009, 08:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SC
Posts: 68
Default Re: SSD Installation Questions

i was afraid something like that would happen.
so how do turn the new drive [now g] into c drive?
via the bios? set the cd as bootable and boot from the windows cd to install?
MenschX is offline  
Old 11-13-2009, 08:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: SSD Installation Questions

Pretty much, set bios to boot from cd then boot the Windows 7 install cd. When it asks what type of installation you want select Custom(Advanced) and then it will let you select the drive you want to install it to.

You might want to temporarily disconnect your other hard drive while you install 7 to ensure it installs everything to the SSD. Also make sure you set the SSD before you hard drive in the boot order in BIOS so it will load the new installation of 7 first when the other drive is reconnected.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 03:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SC
Posts: 68
Default Re: SSD Installation Questions

thank you everything went great. I think I am done reinstalling windows now. LOL
it IS much faster then before. Nice. Only issue I still have to deal with is jmicron for my esata. but i guess i have to deal with that for now.
__________________

MenschX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fast SSD vs. Hard Disks Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 10 08-01-2008 04:47 PM
DSS logs, analyze please! GuitarFreak1857 HijackThis Logs (finished) 7 06-17-2008 10:39 PM
scsi and ssd questions Luke Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 06-14-2008 04:51 AM
New log shades9323 HijackThis Logs (finished) 20 06-02-2008 03:03 PM
windows installation questions nerves Microsoft Windows and Software 9 05-21-2007 10:14 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.