Specs required - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2015, 04:21 PM   #11 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: Specs required

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris:):) View Post
Okay, could you recommend some specs then?
https://support.steampowered.com/kb_...3629-RIAV-1617
Quote:
How do I improve my streaming experience?
Hardware:
We recommend a minimum of a quad-core CPU for the computer running the game. The client has more modest requirements, but should have a GPU that supports hardware accelerated H264 decoding. Any recent laptop or PC should meet the client requirements.
Network:
We recommend using a wired network for the best streaming experience. People have had some success with powerline networks and wireless N and AC networks with good signal, though your experience may vary.
Would still be a better idea to just wait on a build until Win10 and the service is actually out. By then, components will be cheaper, or newer components will be out and you'll have a completely different build.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Surface Pro 3? lol I'm zipped until I see something real on it honestly, and it's out for good.
Doesn't really surprise me. If it's anything like Steam In-Home Streaming, It's doing all the work on the actual system itself as far as the game goes, and then just streams it over the network to the client.

Granted you're probably not going to be able to play anything fast paced like a shooter or something that requires quick reaction due to the inherent latency...but for a lot of games it's fine.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2015, 05:14 PM   #12 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,289
Default Re: Specs required

Think about what you said for a minute. EXTRA processing done on the Xbox One? It can barely handle its own workload.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
desktop, parts, specs, xbox one

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running Dedicated server on less than required pc specs SYL\X/3K Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 11-11-2007 10:09 PM
Crysis expected Required Specs magouster Off Topic Discussion 10 07-28-2006 07:50 PM
HP Pavilion ZT-1192 LCD problem...Help Required! gordons Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 12-27-2005 11:08 AM
Required wires + speakers for Inspire 6700 subwoofer Jared_e Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 12-31-2003 11:44 AM
*** VC++ Help Required *** masalex Programming 0 03-20-2003 07:07 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.