A spec that would beat a ps3 for graphics? - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-21-2007, 10:57 PM   #41 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: A spec that would beat a ps3 for graphics?

PC's are upgradable and have lots more features
__________________

__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 12:06 AM   #42 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 482
Default Re: A spec that would beat a ps3 for graphics?

Yes but the whole point of consoles is to ONLY play games. I hate when people say things like "well you cant browse the internet on consoles" or " you cant mod games"

this isnt why console were created, i dont want any of the functionalities from my console that my PC's have, i dont. I just want a pretty game that is fun to play, and only cost's me 300$, not 2700$.

I love both PC games and console games. But if a game comes out on both platforms, and unless its a RTS game, i will be buying it for my 360.

65" 1080i 7.1 tower speaker Enhanced DTS/ nice comfy couch vs a 32" tv, meh 5.1 surround sound setup and a chair.....yeah no competition.

Another thing i love about consoles are the games focus primarily on the campaign. good story lines, amazing voice acting ( mass effect, metal gear 4) which really gets you hooked on the game. I've never been much of a fan for online multi, too much competition, not as much fun. My best experiences ever are from playing vs 4 of my friens on the halo series, screwing around in warthogs trying to run each other over, or playing mario kart on the gamecube. Not getting pwned by a 13 year old n00b on BF2 that has no life....
__________________

__________________

Sig by Nosboost300
Prophet is offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 06:11 AM   #43 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: A spec that would beat a ps3 for graphics?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amd gt player View Post
my rig outperforms it in games lol. the sony video card is euqivelant to a 6800ultra aparently.
the ps3 is actually the same as a 7900gt.
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 08:00 AM   #44 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
ShaolinDreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 457
Default Re: A spec that would beat a ps3 for graphics?

omg .. here we go again whats better then what.. dont anyone read the posts here. Its like comparing a drag car to a ferrari. Both are great in their own field.

you should listen to Merkwürdigliebe... his posts explains it perfectly. PCS are multifunctional.. so some of their power is lost thru say software and configs. Console are purely geared for playing games. it like if you took a console conponents out and tried to play a PC game with it, its wouldnt work so well. Because its specifically designed to run console games.

Obviously a PC is at the top but who cares if you dont know that your dumb. why are we even arguing this. There is no point to saying it because its plain obvious. The sun is brighter then the moon.. lets argue this :freak:

If your a true gamer this is NOT EVEN RELEVANT!

get over it.. who cares.

<3 PC
<3 Consoles
<3 Games

End of.
__________________
Gaming Rig
Intel Core 2 E6600 @ 3Ghz -Upgrade- Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro 25C/35C
Asus P5N-D Nforce 750i 1333FSB
Crucial Ballistix 2x1GB DDR2 800MHz -Upgrade- Crucial Ballistix Tracer RED 2x2GB 800Mhz
2x SataII, 2x IDE Total = 1.1Tb
EVGA 8800GTS 512mb 'Crysis Edition' @ 750/1900/2000
Onboard Realtek 8.1 Sound Jazzy!
Hiper Type-R 580w -Upgrade- Gigabyte ODIN GT 800W
Modded iCute -Upgrade- Antec 900
19" Iiyama CRT -NEXT Upgrade!- Samsung SM-T260HD 26" w/ Digital TV Tuner / Samsung SM-T240 24"

3DMark06 Score- 13k :)
ShaolinDreams is offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 08:14 AM   #45 (permalink)
Hiphopapotamus.
 
b0dge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Location: Posts: 61,784
Posts: 557
Default Re: A spec that would beat a ps3 for graphics?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaolinDreams View Post
omg .. here we go again whats better then what.. dont anyone read the posts here. Its like comparing a drag car to a ferrari. Both are great in their own field.

you should listen to Merkwürdigliebe... his posts explains it perfectly. PCS are multifunctional.. so some of their power is lost thru say software and configs. Console are purely geared for playing games. it like if you took a console conponents out and tried to play a PC game with it, its wouldnt work so well. Because its specifically designed to run console games.

Obviously a PC is at the top but who cares if you dont know that your dumb. why are we even arguing this. There is no point to saying it because its plain obvious. The sun is brighter then the moon.. lets argue this :freak:

If your a true gamer this is NOT EVEN RELEVANT!

get over it.. who cares.

<3 PC
<3 Consoles
<3 Games

End of.
We have a winner!

Well done ShaolinDreams, not only do you have the best name on the interweb, you're also the most sensible guy out there. And guess what? He's from the UK! Booya!!
__________________
Don't ask questions, just click my rep tick. Now.
b0dge is offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 08:15 AM   #46 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
ShaolinDreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 457
Default Re: A spec that would beat a ps3 for graphics?

hehe thanks mate
__________________
Gaming Rig
Intel Core 2 E6600 @ 3Ghz -Upgrade- Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro 25C/35C
Asus P5N-D Nforce 750i 1333FSB
Crucial Ballistix 2x1GB DDR2 800MHz -Upgrade- Crucial Ballistix Tracer RED 2x2GB 800Mhz
2x SataII, 2x IDE Total = 1.1Tb
EVGA 8800GTS 512mb 'Crysis Edition' @ 750/1900/2000
Onboard Realtek 8.1 Sound Jazzy!
Hiper Type-R 580w -Upgrade- Gigabyte ODIN GT 800W
Modded iCute -Upgrade- Antec 900
19" Iiyama CRT -NEXT Upgrade!- Samsung SM-T260HD 26" w/ Digital TV Tuner / Samsung SM-T240 24"

3DMark06 Score- 13k :)
ShaolinDreams is offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 08:06 PM   #47 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 482
Default Re: A spec that would beat a ps3 for graphics?

Where not argueing which is better, just in which categories each has its strengths. yes a PC game will look better then its console counterpart, but at 4-6x the cost.

As well as preferences, i hate using the keyboard and mouse, i've used consoles since i was 8 years old, and am used to the controller. Just got into PC gaming when i was around 15, so its more natural for me to use a controller over a mouse/keyboard. But for many it is the other way around, which is cool, its all preference.

As i said before, the thing i love most about consoles is playing with 3 of your buds sitting next to you, not nearly as fun as playing online with friends.

One last thing i think i should mention on consoles behalf, is the fact that when you get home with a new game, you just stick it in the console and play. never have to deal with unknown system crashes, never have to try and optimize your computer to match the game, just stick it in and it runs.

i dont mind screwing around with my config sometimes to get the best performance out of my games, but sometime its just too much and i just want to enjoy a game.
__________________

Sig by Nosboost300
Prophet is offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 10:27 PM   #48 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: A spec that would beat a ps3 for graphics?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
haha gabb my computer is almost like yours!!! lol.. well sorta? .. case, cpu, graphics... lol huge psu... 2 gigs.. its got its similarities.. haha
haha thats right...Im trying to overclock my 8800 gtx right now ( check out my thread about it in the overclock forums ), we gotta help eachother out :P
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 10:28 PM   #49 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: A spec that would beat a ps3 for graphics?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
ya.. cuz its wayyy better
we've never seen killzone2, the demonstration they showed in E3 was obviously a prerendered show using the game engine and they even admitted to it. It OBVIOUSLY was not in game footage, in fact I dont think the game will even look half that good.

( for those that havent seen the killzone 2 demonstration it basically looks like CGI better then the final fantasy movie )
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 10:38 PM   #50 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: A spec that would beat a ps3 for graphics?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
ah i cant stand playing at 1680x1050.... it sometimes chokes up every now and then.. 1440x900 is constant butter.. but i get massives jags cuz of my native res...
hmm trust me NosBoost never do anything on your monitor besides the native resolution. Try turning off AA for better performance I just got Crysis, also Im a TF2 addict as well, try adding me, my name is [UCI]Gabb
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
60GB PS3 has overheated, firmware update 2.00 the cause Wildside Sony Playstation 25 04-14-2008 03:09 AM
2nd gen. PS3 console... kharen Sony Playstation 50 11-30-2007 04:15 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.