A spec that would beat a ps3 for graphics? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-21-2007, 04:32 AM   #31 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: A spec that would beat a ps3 for graphics?

crysis better than killzone.. i'm sorry.. no

i've ran this game 1920x1200 16x AA and Very high.. and it does not look better than killzone2

killzone2 motions are much more smooth.. smoke is way better looking.. has a nice thick look... better volume to it than crysis

there isnt 1000 of the same asian dude... everywhere you go

shadows are much more indepth... killzone2 just owns the **** out of crysis


crysis can't touch that...
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 04:34 AM   #32 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: A spec that would beat a ps3 for graphics?

Quote:
Originally Posted by baron5 View Post
from wat i have seen, the other way round
x2....
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 04:39 AM   #33 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: A spec that would beat a ps3 for graphics?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
crysis better than killzone.. i'm sorry.. no

i've ran this game 1920x1200 16x AA and Very high.. and it does not look better than killzone2

killzone2 motions are much more smooth.. smoke is way better looking.. has a nice thick look... better volume to it than crysis

there isnt 1000 of the same asian dude... everywhere you go

shadows are much more indepth... killzone2 just owns the **** out of crysis
if u look at a killzone picture up close as you would on computer you can se the AA isnt as good.

what you really need to be considering is the jungle. they have such a broad non-linear map and a jungle is alot harder to make then a simple city like area. making those kind of games is nothing compared the everything being interactive to the player, trees are breakable at every point, other enemies can be held by the throat etc.. killzone is alot easier game to produce, alot easier then the crysis environment.

and even so the graphics still has got nothing on crysis its not really that good...
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 04:42 AM   #34 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: A spec that would beat a ps3 for graphics?

i have taken under the consideration of the jungle.. have you watched any of the vids on production of this game.. its insane.. the way they have lighting is much crazier than killzone.. go on ign and watch the comentary onthe game.. this game is impressive

and AA in crysis.. HA AA IN CRYSIS IS A JOKE
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 04:45 AM   #35 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: A spec that would beat a ps3 for graphics?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
i have taken under the consideration of the jungle.. have you watched any of the vids on production of this game.. its insane.. the way they have lighting is much crazier than killzone.. go on ign and watch the comentary onthe game.. this game is impressive

and AA in crysis.. HA AA IN CRYSIS IS A JOKE
At 1680x1050 i have no AA on and it seems fairly good, imagine when AA can be used.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 04:46 AM   #36 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: A spec that would beat a ps3 for graphics?

ah i cant stand playing at 1680x1050.... it sometimes chokes up every now and then.. 1440x900 is constant butter.. but i get massives jags cuz of my native res...
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 04:50 AM   #37 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: A spec that would beat a ps3 for graphics?

mine runs fine at 1680x1050 on high. no freezing at all. my q6600 @ 3.6Ghz and gtx@ 600/900

another thing about consoles is the textures are never as of quality to pc's because you are not sitting as close. crysis vs killzone can not be compared. crysis is a revolutionary game.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 05:27 AM   #38 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: A spec that would beat a ps3 for graphics?

do you play xp or vista...

and if xp.. do you use the edited cvar files for modded very high?
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 01:44 PM   #39 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: A spec that would beat a ps3 for graphics?

Crytek doesnt want to use DX10.1 at all or in the future, so i guess ur stuck with crappy AA use in Crysis nosboost.........that is if u ever use it.

i am disappointed by this, especially since it is coming from the CEO of Crytek.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 08:19 PM   #40 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default Re: A spec that would beat a ps3 for graphics?

I've mentioned this before (maybe I make my posts too long so people don't bother reading them).

PS3, or any consoles for that matter, have the advantage over PC in the mainstream gaming market because a game's development team concentrates solely on optimizing performance and quality on one set of hardware, whereas PC game developers have to deal with a whole range of computers. This creates a situation where consoles outlive PC setups that constantly need upgrading to keep up to date with new game requirements.

And PS3s are $399 now, show me a $399 PC that can handle Crysis enough so to look better than KZ2...
__________________

__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
60GB PS3 has overheated, firmware update 2.00 the cause Wildside Sony Playstation 25 04-14-2008 03:09 AM
2nd gen. PS3 console... kharen Sony Playstation 50 11-30-2007 04:15 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.