Speaker/Sound Card ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-04-2006, 06:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 118
Default Speaker/Sound Card ?

I was just wondering if i could use on-board sound to run these Speakers . Also if the on-board doesnt work, what would be a budget sound card taht would support it? i pretty much need to keep the total below $120. that total includes the speakers which are $60.

thx in advance
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://www.bf2sigs.net\"><img src=\"http://www.bf2sigs.net/sigs/0/4/55192050.jpg\">
Major Noob is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 06:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default

The sound chips on newer mobos should handle that. I know mine can.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 06:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 118
Default

how about if i have an emachines... T6420 is the model if that helps? otherwise it only has the green input thing for sound.. lol... i obviously dont know much about sound cards or speakers
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.bf2sigs.net\"><img src=\"http://www.bf2sigs.net/sigs/0/4/55192050.jpg\">
Major Noob is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 06:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default

Here's your motherboard:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130041 but with eMachine BIOS.

It has 8-channel sound, so it ought to work.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 06:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 118
Default

lol how'd you know that? anyway, thx for your help
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.bf2sigs.net\"><img src=\"http://www.bf2sigs.net/sigs/0/4/55192050.jpg\">
Major Noob is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 07:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default

One of my secrets... But anyway-

I use this site to get the configuration of most eMachines (except for the newest models):
http://www.priorityonesupport.com/home.asp

Once I got the model of your motherboard, I googled it to get the manufacturer. Since it pulled it up as a variation of a standard one by MSI, I checked NewEgg. Once I found it there, I scolled down and looked at the audio of the board.

Simple, eh?
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 07:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 118
Default

sounds pretty neat. when i was looking at the pictures of the speakers, i noticed there are alot more connectors than just the green one im used to. do i need to connect all of the red ones and stuff to play out of all speakers or will i only need that one green slot again?

thx again
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.bf2sigs.net\"><img src=\"http://www.bf2sigs.net/sigs/0/4/55192050.jpg\">
Major Noob is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 07:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default

The one green one goes to the computer. Everything else plugs into the bass.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 08:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 118
Default

aight cool. when i saw it i was a little concerned lol. but thx again and hopefully that was the last thing i needed.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.bf2sigs.net\"><img src=\"http://www.bf2sigs.net/sigs/0/4/55192050.jpg\">
Major Noob is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 08:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8
Default

I seem to have the same exact speakers (except that I'm only using the subwoofer and the two main speakers.)

Anyway, what I was going to say was that it has more then just the "green" plug to go into the PC. Sure enough, a lot of the plugs go into the seperate speakers, but there is a total of 3 plugs for the PC.

I've only got one plugged in, but my guess is that if you want all 5 speakers for a complete surround sound, you will need to plug the other two in as well.
__________________

Furious5k is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.