speaker - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2007, 07:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default speaker

I have a cable coming out of my case called speaker and I have not been able to figure out what it actually does I assume its to plug in next to the power led, power switch and stuff on the motherboard but It doesn't appear to have any effect when plugged in. what does this cable actually do????
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 07:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: speaker

it makes the beeps
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 07:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: speaker

yeah I figured that out after a couple of guides on google. I have no Idea how I get my sound level indicator working on the front of my case then theres no mention of the connector in the manual
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 07:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: speaker

picture? everybody loves pictures
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 08:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: speaker

well my case is currently in tatters with everything just splayed out wires everywhere lol because I am still doing my mod but here's the case:

Welcome to Thermaltake

no mention on how to make the indicator work on google, **** me for having such a rare case there are only 2-3 reviews on it
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 08:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: speaker

hey, dont feel bad, i have a beige metal case
can you elaborate on the sound level indicators?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 08:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: speaker

well I know as much as you about the sound level indicator lol which is nothing there is a picture of it operational on the front left hand side of the case its like 5 led's in a circle which light up as system volume is increased but I can't see where to plug it in
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 08:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: speaker

doesnt the manual say use the pci whatever?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 09:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: speaker

ok I have made progress I have cancelled it down to three cables which are all connected but don't appear to be doing anything

cable one has audio written on the socket and the pin configuration would place it in a slot labelled AA/P1 on the mobo. I think this is the front audio input/output

cable 2 is one going from the back pci bracket which came supplied with the case it is just a simple 2 pin which connects to a mysterious cable at the front

cable 3 there is a random Molex connector with only 2 wires in it that appears from behind the hdd rack
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 09:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: speaker

lol through fiddling now my front audio inputs/outputs don't work
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hooking speakers up via digital/5.1 Speaker placement mack Computer Audio and Multimedia 7 05-01-2007 06:41 PM
weird speaker problem S0ULphIRE Computer Audio and Multimedia 4 04-20-2007 08:19 AM
Speaker Question pukgandi Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 04-14-2007 10:32 PM
speaker system peterhuang913 Computer Audio and Multimedia 6 04-11-2007 01:06 AM
Speaker Dilemma smalls0224 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 04-06-2007 08:02 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.