Soundcards - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2006, 10:02 AM   #11 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

yep... gotta love just deals...
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 01:17 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

i have the z-640's hooked up to an x-fi. they are decent but they still sound like budget speakers. usually alot of distortion in the speakers unless you turn the volume down really low. get a quality 2.1 instead of cheap 5.1's
__________________

__________________
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 01:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Running
usually alot of distortion in the speakers unless you turn the volume down really low.
I have absolutely no problem with mine... even at high volume when gaming or going mp3 crazy... then I'm not on an X-fi, so I don't know the setup... hence why I gave him the link to an Audigy 2ZS
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 01:46 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 189
Default

Im with running... go with 2.1s rather than 5.1s if youre spending that little money. The cheapest 5.1s id get are the x-530s or equilvlent. Ive got the X-5300e (280w 5.1 THX cert) there #*&$%*# sweet for $130. Audigys are great sound cards if you want one, but x-fis are supposed to be absolutely incredible( i could tell you for sure but mine hasnt #*@$*$# arrived yet)

Ive currently just got a soundblaster LIVE! now. Its good if you just want a cheap card.

anyway, some decently priced speakers:

2.1s

Logitech X-230
Logitech Z-2300
Creative I-Trigue 3300 2.1
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1

5.1s

Logitech X-530
Creative Inspire P7800
Logitech THX Z-5300e


OR if you decide to really splurge a more expensive system w/ great sound and lots of it -->logitech z-5500
triskit is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 02:13 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jonny_uk
Ok one more thing, would it be possible to get something like the above setup AND still have my built in speakers working? i dont think i can as ill need to unplug it to put the new ones in?
Yes, you can. On most motherboards, the on-board sound has a mic 1 (pink) a Line-in (blue) and a Line-out (for speakers, green). With the software for your audio drivers, you can set the Line-in (blue) jack to Line-out. That way, you will have sound coming out of both.

Most soundcards have a "versa" jack which you can also use for more speakers.

My friend had a 2.1 speaker setup (2 speakers and a sub) that he gave me. Now, the sub is pretty nice, but the speakers blow...my two speakers were better. So, I put my good speakers into the Line-out, and put the sub to the versa jack (which I programmed to Line-out. I can control sound levels to just my sub, and speakers independantly now.

If that is not an option, you could also purchase a Y-splitter.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 04:30 PM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

Quote:
i have the z-640's hooked up to an x-fi. they are decent but they still sound like budget speakers. usually alot of distortion in the speakers unless you turn the volume down really low. get a quality 2.1 instead of cheap 5.1's
The 24bit crystalizer puts to much bass into the sound for standard cheap speakers. If you have it on you have to turn the bass way down or you will get distortion from any speaker smaller than a 4". Also, i would recomend going w/ a Sound Blsater Live 24bit (30 bucks) and a 2.1 system of your choice. You wont get the best sound but for a small room its nice. Also, w/ the SB you can hook both of your speaker setups to it one threw the green and one threw the blue.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 04:34 PM   #17 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

the z 640 sounded just fine on my friends audigy, i didnt notice any distortion of any sort... ya, like stated it could be the x-fi.. they tend to give off a **** load of bass.. i have my bass at 60 percent in the x-fi menu before any distortion due to bass in the sattelites.. and thats on z-5500's... so i would assume its the x-fi... my z-5300-e's had 0 problems with my onboard sound... only the fact that it didnt give true surround sound or anything like that. if you had more money, i would highly suggest the z-5300 e's even if it was just for onboard sound.

hrmm... i just saw pp mcguires statement.. and with or without the crystalizer its doing my z-5500's in the butt with all the bass... only with the crystalizer off i could put the bass maybe 10 percent higher... so.. crystalizer stays on for me..
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-13-2006, 01:33 AM   #18 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

The Crystalizer is like going from AM to CD. It adds much more quality to your sound than just bass. Bass and low mids (more low mids) give off more distortion in satelites than anything. Your highs can distort a satelite too if there is to much but unlikely in todays modern speakers. If you knew what you where doing and could eliminate the distortion via an equilizer in a program but it takes an ear. Since im not actualy there to experience the problem i cant tell you how to fix it. Just keep your bass low, and get a good system w/ a sub and a decent sound card and you should be fine.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 07-13-2006, 02:34 PM   #19 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

i dunno if that was refering to me or not?? but thats only if i put the bass incredibly high that i get distortion.. and i don't know if its distortion, just bass coming out the sattelites.. with bass redirection it sends it all to the sub.. but then also gets rid of almost all the bass!! i dont know why it took so long for me to discover that... but anyway, i have things working just fine.. i don't need to be so bass hungry
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-13-2006, 05:01 PM   #20 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

THats why i use PA gear, no bass problems at all lol.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.