SOS !New rig - suddently turn off - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2006, 03:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 449
Send a message via ICQ to madking153
Default SOS !New rig - suddently turn off

Hi,
I just built a new gaming rig , below is the spec:

M2n32 deluxe
XFX 7600GT
AMD AM2 X2 3800+
2GB ram DDR533
2 DVD burner
250GB HD

It works for the last few days,but today when i connect my external HD to it , it freeze .. so i restart the computer. Then the computer boot afew seconds and turn off itself , i can't even see the anything in screen


PLS HELP !!
__________________

madking153 is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 09:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 109
Default

unplug your extenal hd and then go into the bios. I bet you have it set up to boot off of an external first. so its looking on your external drive for an OS and not finding anything.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.6
ASUS A8N-SLI Premium
2x GIGABYTE 7600GT Silent Pipe SLI @ 607/800
OCZ Platinum 2GB DDR 400 @ 220 2.5-3-3-5
Raptor 74GB 10,000 RPM
X-Fi Platinum
SeaSonic 600W
bzflag is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 03:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 449
Send a message via ICQ to madking153
Default

no, is not the external HD problem, now i cant even go to boot screen , because right after 5 sec the computer turn off , cant see **** on screen
madking153 is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 03:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default

ur gonna have to adjust ur external harddive in ur BIos and adjust the jumpers to an unoccupied spot.........
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 03:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 449
Send a message via ICQ to madking153
Default

nono, the booting is not from external HD
madking153 is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 03:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

fine but is that external HD unplugged?

Just today I found out my keyboard is causing my computer to freeze and crash, because its messed up.

I would not be surprised if its the external HD causing the problems... alot of the external enclosures tend to stop working and mess up after a rather short time of use [varies from coule of months to a year, I havent had 1 external enclosure that survived more than a year], but thats why they are cheap [at least the most common ones.]

-Jo
Yoad is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 03:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

go to the BIOS WHILE THE EXTERNAL IS UNPLUGGED and look for Boot order, Set Hard drive for number one.


Save, exit, and your done.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 09:32 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 449
Send a message via ICQ to madking153
Default

i unpluged the external drive long time ago...
but still the computer wont start ... I mean i can start the computer for 5 secs- all the fans are funnig .. only for few seconds..

Do you guys think is the problem of power supply??

PLS help !!! dont know what to do
madking153 is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 12:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lord AnthraX
go to the BIOS WHILE THE EXTERNAL IS UNPLUGGED and look for Boot order, Set Hard drive for number one.


Save, exit, and your done.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-08-2006, 06:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 449
Send a message via ICQ to madking153
Default

I am sure it is not the problem of HD .. i am thinking of the Power supply problem... But i just test it - it works fine ...

So now i am thinking of the problem of ram or CPU ....

Again , the computer cannot boot at all, i mean it start ( everything is running.) then it auto turn off before the screen show something
__________________

madking153 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.