soooooo excited - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2006, 03:51 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Wow, I give up on explaining..

good luck doing whatever you had in mind lol, its your money.

-Jo.
__________________

Yoad is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 03:54 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 37
Default

your so far stuck up your own ars, but still read these: http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/sho...php?t=17596676
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=105201
__________________

jimmyness is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 04:00 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default

physically...many of the older (not that old of course, just computer old, lol) lga 775 mbs were not future preppred for the Intel Core 2 Duo. It's just a matter of flashing the bios for those mbs that needed it...of course I'm assuming this is what it is, could be something else
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 04:01 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

haha thats pretty **** funny, but seriously i woudlnt even have bought a system board that would make me do that. also jimmyness gotta learn there are just some ppl not worth paying attention to so dont let it get to you. but those Links make me never want to buy asus, love my MSI lol.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 06:34 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 37
Default

its a decnet board and its not that its old its just that it was designed to work with the origanal conroes, but the conroes changes a bit after the realse of the first batch of the mobos, so its only a few that are ****ed, and if mines a new version then ill just send the celeron back.

here it is: http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatal..._Asus_177.html

ive had asus befoe and it was rock solid, its alos the board alot of people are going for
jimmyness is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 06:36 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 37
Default

there agian, maby i shoudl change to a gigabyte
jimmyness is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 06:40 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

ya, it looks like it won't even post with the conroe.. so you gotta use another 775 cpu..

jimmy, if you're able to return the celeron, that would be great.. i suggest you use the scythe ninja on the celeron so you don't use the stock cooler w/ the stock thermal paste, that way when you return it, it'll look brand new, as though you didn't even use it.. just make sure you clean off the cpu well with alcohol... and make it look brand new.. and don't damage the packaging.. hehe... i assume you have AS5 ?

is this wrong? maybe.. but its their fault for falsly advertising that the mobo supports conroe when it actually doesn't...
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 06:43 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

well, gl on whichever one you choose
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 06:47 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 37
Default

thanks, do you reacon i even need a heatsink on it at all, given im just gonna boot it up and use it for like 10 mins?

there is a bit of a hoo haa over the false abvertising, oh well
jimmyness is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 06:55 PM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

ya you'd definitely need the heatsink AND fan even if its just for 10 minutes... it only takes a few seconds for it to fry
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.