Soon to upgrade... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-06-2007, 11:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default Soon to upgrade...

I have a great computer and all but I want to upgrade. I am going to upgrade the ram to either 4gb or 6gb. I was just wandering what would be better.
I already have 2gb 2 x 1gb sticks. If I got 2 x 2gb sticks will it though my pc off balance because they are not the same size. I plan to eventually get to 8gb of ram. You may seem that it a little overkill but I love to upgrade.
__________________

__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 11:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Soon to upgrade...

IMO, your computer doesn't need an upgrade at all. Why do you need 4, 6, or even 8gb of ram. That is way overkill. That is unless you are doing CAD or editing videos and stuff. 2gb is plenty for gaming and everything else. Save your money, for when you need an upgrade, not because you want to. But I can't tell you how, to use your money.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 07:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Soon to upgrade...

i agree. anything more then 4gb would be overkill u dont need. i think the computer u have is already good enough lol. if u have that much money to waste think about selling ur gts and gettin gtx.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 08:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Soon to upgrade...

u got some virus or something that makes your pc feel slow?
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 12:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default Re: Soon to upgrade...

That is just it, I am using cadd. Well not that much right this second but i am upgrading it for next year of school. The only thing I am asking if to get 6gb or 4gb. The reason will be how will it handle. I like ram, and I will have two 22" moniters soon so mulittasking is a must.
__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 01:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Soon to upgrade...

I'd say try 4gb of ram first. See how you like it. If it's not working out, get more.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 02:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Soon to upgrade...

do you have 32bit windows though???
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 03:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Soon to upgrade...

If your doing CAD then 4GB of ram is fine...actually 3GB is perfect but no one uses odd numbers like that so get 4. 6GB won't be used for years to come..
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 10:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default Re: Soon to upgrade...

That is the reason I said 6gb/ I want to upgrade to that so I wouldn't be wasting 120 on 2gb of ram that I will be replacing soon after. I will probally not use it all but I am thinking ahead. I will probally get 4gb because it is cheaper. I have to say, I think it is almost 90 days since I build this pc. Should I go ahead and upgrade to a 8800gtx. Or should I say with a 8800gts 640mb. Just remember I plan to have a second screen and I will be playing Halo 2 for vista very soon.
__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 10:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Soon to upgrade...

Halo 2 is not a very demanding game. Stick with the 8800GTS 640....it's powerful enough.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Vista Upgrade uzi9mm Off Topic Discussion 18 07-19-2007 09:26 PM
Upgrade this Dell dimension C251 uniq1 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 05-01-2007 07:42 PM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM
Cant burn to Imation 16x DVD-R!! Cant upgrade DVD-RW firmware either!! Rawan AbuSalman Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-17-2007 05:34 PM
Vista Upgrade Christon Microsoft Windows and Software 5 04-07-2007 12:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.