Sony DVD burner/Seagate HDD.... doesn't have cables - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-15-2007, 04:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 616
Send a message via AIM to OnlyCurious Send a message via Yahoo to OnlyCurious
Question Sony DVD burner/Seagate HDD.... doesn't have cables

Do I need to buy any cables for both of these products? Or will the mobo and PSU take care of it?

I think the HDD needs the SATA/power cables bought separately... but I'm not sure about the DVD burner. If I have to buy separate cables, can you guys recommend a good cable with a link... Thanks.

DVD:
Newegg.com - Sony NEC Optiarc Black 18X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 18X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache E-IDE / ATAPI DVD Burner - OEM

HDD:
Newegg.com - Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3320620AS (Perpendicular Recording Technology) 320GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
__________________

__________________
Use my advice at your own risk.

My rig:
CoolerMaster Centurion 5
SamSung 20" LCD
Intel E6750 @ 2.66Ghz
Gigabyte p35-ds3r
Patriot Extreme 2gb 4-4-4-12
Sapphire X1950XT 256mb
Samsung 500gb @ 7200
PSU Xclio GreatPower 550W
Samsung DVD Burner
Logitec X-230 2.1
OnlyCurious is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 04:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default Re: Sony DVD burner/Seagate HDD.... doesn't have cables

PSU/MOBO has all the cables you'll need.
__________________

__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 04:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 616
Send a message via AIM to OnlyCurious Send a message via Yahoo to OnlyCurious
Default Re: Sony DVD burner/Seagate HDD.... doesn't have cables

Quote:
Originally Posted by PanzerKammander View Post
PSU/MOBO has all the cables you'll need.
Are you sure? I heard people complaining about the SATA cable not coming with the Seagate HDD....
__________________
Use my advice at your own risk.

My rig:
CoolerMaster Centurion 5
SamSung 20" LCD
Intel E6750 @ 2.66Ghz
Gigabyte p35-ds3r
Patriot Extreme 2gb 4-4-4-12
Sapphire X1950XT 256mb
Samsung 500gb @ 7200
PSU Xclio GreatPower 550W
Samsung DVD Burner
Logitec X-230 2.1
OnlyCurious is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 04:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default Re: Sony DVD burner/Seagate HDD.... doesn't have cables

Sata cables comes with your motherboard not hard drive, the sata power cables from the psu to the hard drive come with the psu.
__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 04:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 616
Send a message via AIM to OnlyCurious Send a message via Yahoo to OnlyCurious
Default Re: Sony DVD burner/Seagate HDD.... doesn't have cables

Why are people complaining about it on Newegg reviews then... weird. Newegg reviews are useless.
__________________
Use my advice at your own risk.

My rig:
CoolerMaster Centurion 5
SamSung 20" LCD
Intel E6750 @ 2.66Ghz
Gigabyte p35-ds3r
Patriot Extreme 2gb 4-4-4-12
Sapphire X1950XT 256mb
Samsung 500gb @ 7200
PSU Xclio GreatPower 550W
Samsung DVD Burner
Logitec X-230 2.1
OnlyCurious is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 04:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default Re: Sony DVD burner/Seagate HDD.... doesn't have cables

Its becuase they are idiots, that dont understand OEM products come with nothing except the main product. If you were to buy that retail, yes it would come with sata to mobo cables.. but its not.. its OEM. Its fine for people like us that build their own systems cuz we get all the cables from the mobo/psu. No worries.
__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 04:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 616
Send a message via AIM to OnlyCurious Send a message via Yahoo to OnlyCurious
Default Re: Sony DVD burner/Seagate HDD.... doesn't have cables

Quote:
Originally Posted by PanzerKammander View Post
Its becuase they are idiots, that dont understand OEM products come with nothing except the main product. If you were to buy that retail, yes it would come with sata to mobo cables.. but its not.. its OEM. Its fine for people like us that build their own systems cuz we get all the cables from the mobo/psu. No worries.
LOL Ok, I see how that works. Thanks for the clarification.
__________________

__________________
Use my advice at your own risk.

My rig:
CoolerMaster Centurion 5
SamSung 20" LCD
Intel E6750 @ 2.66Ghz
Gigabyte p35-ds3r
Patriot Extreme 2gb 4-4-4-12
Sapphire X1950XT 256mb
Samsung 500gb @ 7200
PSU Xclio GreatPower 550W
Samsung DVD Burner
Logitec X-230 2.1
OnlyCurious is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.