Somone help me out with this? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2006, 12:54 AM   #31 (permalink)
The ModFather
 
markkleb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Reno Nevada
Posts: 273
Default

try this
http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=1223
__________________

__________________
MKMods
markkleb is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 01:21 AM   #32 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

What's wrong with the Abit board? I haven't seen anyone complain about it. I read all over the net on how many problems people have had with the A8N, I wouldn't say that is a nice product in any light of the phrase.
__________________

__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 01:27 AM   #33 (permalink)
The ModFather
 
markkleb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Reno Nevada
Posts: 273
Default

There have been many problems with Abit. They just got bought by another company who is trying to make them better. But they are famous for mobo problems.

I like Epox much better than the Asus, but the Asus is a good board. I also like DFI but it generally requires a higher understanding of adjusting the bios.

http://www.trustedreviews.com/article.aspx?art=1925

EDIT: i had a chance to read some of the reviews on the ABIT and you were right. The reviewers like it. It dosent have as many features as the Asus or others but it seems to work well.
__________________
MKMods
markkleb is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 01:48 AM   #34 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

Alright so now it's between the Abit motherboard and this one here http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813123246
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 01:49 AM   #35 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Don't give up on Asus. They are the #1 mobo brand out. But, if you want to change, get MSI or DFI. Both are great mobo makers.

[EDIT]
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136152

The mobo you linked to is out of stock. Plus, it's not as good as the DFI.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 03:58 AM   #36 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Asus > Dfi? Didnt know that (sarcasum). I would say Asus is good but there are 4 computers here that are taken very good care of here with asus mobos and are starting to show problems and they arent over 3 years old. Most issues are reinstalls on windows and sometimes the pc doesnt want to boot. So dumb. I would go with Dfi or Msi because I hardly hear of any major problems from those companies.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 05:53 AM   #37 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Please, do NOT get an Abit board.

Read some of the comments here: http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...hreadid=114272

Starts with my post in the thread
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 09:33 AM   #38 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

I was looking at that same DFI board as my first choice but decided to go with Asus instead because of the difficulties with plugging in voltage settings and whatnot that I've heard about on the DFIs. I wanted a board I'd be able to hook up and run really easily but if alot of people have had experience with this board then let me know how it is to set up and what exactly you've got to do.
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 10:47 AM   #39 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Ok if your going to overclock and are not going sli and wont read a manual to figure a motherboard out, here you go http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130491
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 12:00 PM   #40 (permalink)
The ModFather
 
markkleb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Reno Nevada
Posts: 273
Default

I have the Asus, DFI(ultra,DR and Expert),and the Epox you listed 9NPA+ SLI, MSI and a few Biostar and ECS mobos here.

For someone just starting the Epox is a better board. It needs the least messing with. It will support SLI later if you need it. It needs the least amount of power to run (you dont need a huge PS) And it has the most features for the money.

If you are having problems with the Asus board switching may/maynot help. You may end up with the same prob all over
again.
Rven though its a pain now its probably better to find out whats going on with youe current board than just getting another (good learning experience)

Did you unplug the HDD, CD-rom and floppy and start up ur mobo like I said in a earlier post?
__________________

__________________
MKMods
markkleb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.