Something wrong - VERY VERY low 3dmark06 score. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-20-2009, 08:57 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Something wrong - VERY VERY low 3dmark06 score.

Make sure you haven't enabled AA or anything int he nvidia control panel...just switch it to performance mode.

Also post up a screenshot of the main GPU-Z tab.
techPowerUp! :: Download TechPowerUp GPU-Z v0.3.2
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 03-20-2009, 03:16 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Something wrong - VERY VERY low 3dmark06 score.

i agree with vern, make sure the res is at 1280x1024 and turn off all AF and AA.

my system on a heavy overclock gets me about 16700 marks. on the cpu test i see 1-3FPS, so that is normal.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 03-20-2009, 03:55 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: Something wrong - VERY VERY low 3dmark06 score.

I think vern is probably right.

Also the reason the cpu fps is so low is because that test has the cpu doing all of the work. Its not video card based. CPUs aren't designed to do graphics.... yet.

GPUs have lots of cores working in parallel splitting up the tasks to make them easier. GPUs aren't very versatile though.

CPUs have a few cores that are very dynamic which allows them to run all of your other programs so well and do multiple tasks at once with seamless switching.
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 03-20-2009, 04:03 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: Something wrong - VERY VERY low 3dmark06 score.

I would also have to agree with the others on the resolution/stock 3DM settings. Those GPU scores seem very low. I scored 6474 SM2, and 7174 SM3 on stock when I had a single GTX 260. Are you running the Core 216 model?

That CPU score is in line with a dual core run for 3DM06.
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 03-20-2009, 06:15 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 354
Default Re: Something wrong - VERY VERY low 3dmark06 score.

"You did keep it the 3dmark06 stock resolution at 1280x1024, right? because if you changed that to your native resolution 1920x1200, your score WILL fall"

I kept the 3dmark06 settings stock, as it is the free version, and it won't let me change them anyway.

I tried it with Performance settings for the card, and even then I only got it too 8100 marks total.

Also, I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling the drivers, twice now. I didn't go hardcore with a 3rd party remover, but I didn't think that would be necessary

And here is the screenshot.

Oh, it is the core model too.

Thanks for all help thus far and future help! I am going to interchange a friend's gpu with mine today, and also try Crysis
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screenshot.jpg (59.0 KB, 86 views)
__________________
Resident Survival-Horror Expert....I had a mustache once; of course I'm an expert!
dartgande is offline  
Old 03-20-2009, 06:40 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Something wrong - VERY VERY low 3dmark06 score.

Your card is running at PCI-E x1, it should be x16...which slot do you have the GPU installed in?
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 03-20-2009, 06:44 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Something wrong - VERY VERY low 3dmark06 score.

It looks lke you put it in a PCi-e X1 slot
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 03-20-2009, 07:13 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Something wrong - VERY VERY low 3dmark06 score.

lol, is it possible to put the card in a x1 slot? it must be a board defect or a openended slot and he got confused.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 03-20-2009, 07:55 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 354
Default Re: Something wrong - VERY VERY low 3dmark06 score.

haha, it is in the PCI 16 slot! What can be causing this? Is the mobo bad, and if it is, how would I find out? I don't think the card would work in any other slot either. Is there a way to fix this?
__________________
Resident Survival-Horror Expert....I had a mustache once; of course I'm an expert!
dartgande is offline  
Old 03-20-2009, 08:18 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 354
Default Re: Something wrong - VERY VERY low 3dmark06 score.

I just reseated it again, and it still reads the same thing. Any ideas as to what's going on?
__________________

__________________
Resident Survival-Horror Expert....I had a mustache once; of course I'm an expert!
dartgande is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
concerned over gtx 260 3dmark06 score stainer711 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 12-20-2008 09:12 AM
1st 3dMark06 Score... where to go from here. cinaibur Overclocking and Modding 23 07-25-2008 12:39 PM
3dmark06 score BonKerz New Systems | Building and Buying 19 06-10-2008 11:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.