Solid State Drive and Raid - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-23-2009, 03:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Default Solid State Drive and Raid

Hi guys, I currently have a relatively high spec system:

core2extreme @ 4.2 ghz
Asus P5-ND 750i
1x xfx gtx 280 1GB
4gb DDR2 @ 1066 (OCZ reaper HPC)
2 x maxtor 500gb 32mb cache sata HDDs.

What i'm looking to do is install a 30gb solid state drive (ocz) for my OS, and then pupt my remaining 2 maxtor HDDs in raid 1 for storage (i do alot of audio work)

is it possible to raid the two HDDs but not the solid state one? (My mobo supports raid ofc :P)

Thanks in advance, jack
__________________

liljackjack is offline  
Old 03-23-2009, 03:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Solid State Drive and Raid

Yes, you should be able to do that. (I hate the minimum post size restriction on this forum sometimes even though it is there for a good reason)
__________________

__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 03-23-2009, 04:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: Solid State Drive and Raid

Thanks that's great, just set it up in the bios as usual then?
liljackjack is offline  
Old 03-23-2009, 04:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Solid State Drive and Raid

yep.
good man for using RAID 1.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Norton's Ghost 14 will not detect my RAID Drive. Harper Microsoft Windows and Software 3 03-07-2009 09:51 PM
Problem with RAID and Lite-on DVD Drive digital_ninja2k Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 08-13-2008 01:19 AM
Pre-RAID Guide veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 07-20-2007 11:26 PM
Hard Drive Speeds and RAID 0 zdude255 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 04-26-2007 11:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.