Socket A Hardware - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-15-2006, 07:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Socket A Hardware

[long story]
as usual i've been messing around with a lot of pc hardware . the other day i stumbled across a Duron 800 based machine with an mATX motherboard, on the side of the road . i'm now happily using this as a small media pc for my room to stream the several hundred gigabytes of video from my main pc. i have plans for the motherboard, i've managed to pickup a darn nice case for next to nothing and i would like to throw in an Athlon XP ~2000+ perhaps as much as a 2600+ so that i can view and encode HDTV.
[/long story]

[short story]
does anyone know if their are any particular chipset/bios requirements to use any Athlon XP models? i.e. will the chipset have to support it or will the fact that it is Socket A do the trick? i can't tell you the exact motherboard model but i know it is manufactured by IBM and from there NetVista series. it uses SD-RAM rather than DDR.
[/short story]

Thanks in advance,
Nitestick
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 08:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

hmm, i dont think so it will support AthlonXP series, may be only limited to Thunderbird core on AMD's. so you are limited to 66-100MHz FSB only.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 08:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

thanks for the information . so the XP series is out of the question? just the T-Bird Athlons :/. i just had an idea though. a friend of mine has an XP so i'll throw that in and see if i can make it workable.

keep it coming guys, could still use a definitive answer if anyone has one.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 08:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

XP series came with DDR RAM's. So I am definately sure it wont be accepting palomino cores, as I am pretty sure the chipset would might be of AMD itself.

though, best is, go to www.cpuid.com and download a free software (CPU-Z), it will tell you what Chipset you've got. and rest, sarch for the answers, or write chipset information here, and you'll surely be helped out
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 08:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

well thanks again. i did know the memory platform was different however i didn't think that would actually be a barrier in itself given that the memory support is provided by the Northbridge

edit: oh and i will try CPU-Z. i can't believe i didn't see that route before. i have tried googling but i couldn't find an answer as i didn't know where to start
Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 10:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,266
Default

CPU-Z and/or Everest, followed by a detailed Google search, should yield your answers, padawan.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 11:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

ok i checked it out. good call Blind_Arrow kudos. seems i will be limited to the T-Birds and Durons.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 08:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

Thunderbird is quiet good enough, even stong enough to hold any good application. provide it with a good cooler (prefebely made for the XP's), and a strong server is to serve.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.