Socket AM2, What's the deal? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-05-2006, 03:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 218
Default Socket AM2, What's the deal?

It's been a while since I built my last rig, and I was wondering about Socket AM2. It is compatible with socket 939 CPUs? or will I have to buy a brand new AM2 mobo and CPU? Thanks

~Shando
__________________

Shando is offline  
Old 08-05-2006, 03:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

AM2 is slightley diffrent from 939.


AM2 has 940 pins, and is only compatible with DDR2 memory.


And yes you need to go buy a AM2 mobo and CPU.
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 08-05-2006, 03:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 218
Default

Ok Thanks. Another thing - Are there any good AM2 motherboards/CPUs on the market currently that you would reccommend?
Shando is offline  
Old 08-05-2006, 04:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

For high budget or low?

I'm getting one that you could call it a budget motherboard because its only 100$ but its actualy of very high quality and is REALLY good for overclcking.

the DFI Infinity nF Ultra II M2

Its only cheap because it has a Nforce 4 chipset and not Nforce 5. and the diffrence is not so great..

Also one of the biggest and few advantages AM2 has over 939 is the DDR2 support, along with the on-die memory controller which reduces the access time tremendously[which is the biggest problem of DDR2, the latencies..], it truly shines.

-Jo.
Yoad is offline  
Old 08-05-2006, 05:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to venividivici Send a message via Yahoo to venividivici
Default

I too am looking at getting a new mobo and cpu however I am not sure if I should go with 939 or AM2.

Right now I have a 754 socket AMD Athlon 64 3000+. I am using an MSI K8N Neo board.

I am also upgrading the board to get PCI-E as I purchased a new video card.

My big question is will an AM2 board that supports DD2 dual channel ram also support DDR400 dual channel ram? I currently have 2x512mb Corsair XMS ram and I don't plan to switch to DDR2 anytime soon as I feelw what I have is still sufficient enough.

The board I was looking at is http://www.canadacomputers.com/index...701&cid=MB.526

As for the chip I was figuring I would do with the AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600+ Dual Core Socket AM2 Windsor 2.4GHZ 2000FSB 2X512KB 90NM or the 939 socket 4600+ version if I just decide to go with 939.

The prices are the same so really I could go either way.
venividivici is offline  
Old 08-05-2006, 06:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Am2 cannot use DDR, it is only DDR2.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 01:19 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to venividivici Send a message via Yahoo to venividivici
Default

Thanks Trotter, hmm I guess I am just gonna build a new rig then and spend a bit more money.
venividivici is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 05:08 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 218
Default

Ok thanks guys for the quick feedback, I really appreciate it

~Shando
__________________

Shando is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.