Socket 754 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-03-2006, 10:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Dante_Caligari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 444
Send a message via MSN to Dante_Caligari
Default Socket 754

What is the best processor that I can buy for a socket 754 motherboard?

My friend bought a mobo with that socket type and he doesn't want it; I would like to have another computer for linux and such, so would it be even be worth it?
__________________

__________________
<img src="http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e372/dante_caligari/newsig_7_expL.jpg">
<font face=tahoma color=red size=1>Knowledge is power.</font></td></table>
Dante_Caligari is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 10:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i think the best is 3500+ or 3800+ but by personal choice i would get a Sempron 3000+ or 3100+ palermo core. they are actually the most advanced s754 processors overall i think because i think they have the latest instruction sets that weren't backported with some of the Athlons.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 11:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Dante_Caligari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 444
Send a message via MSN to Dante_Caligari
Default

So would this computer really be good for anything?
__________________
<img src="http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e372/dante_caligari/newsig_7_expL.jpg">
<font face=tahoma color=red size=1>Knowledge is power.</font></td></table>
Dante_Caligari is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 11:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

yeah semprons are decent processors. whats more they are cheap and they also overclock well. there is some debate over the p-ratings on the semprons but it is my opinion that in terms of raw processing ability a sempron 3000+ will equal a 2.8ghz p4 but in games it will be better than a 3ghz P4.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 11:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

go with this-
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103424

or-

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819104231
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 01:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Dante_Caligari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 444
Send a message via MSN to Dante_Caligari
Default

Well basically I just want another computer to play multiplayer with friends. I plan on putting my old 6600 in it when I get my 7900GTX, and I am going to dual boot with windows and linux. It is not going to have to run any powerful games: maybe just Battlefield 1942, and Vietnam.
__________________
<img src="http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e372/dante_caligari/newsig_7_expL.jpg">
<font face=tahoma color=red size=1>Knowledge is power.</font></td></table>
Dante_Caligari is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 04:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Yes, stick with the Sempr0n 64's.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 05:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default

For games on that thing id say the 3700+ is the best but for everything a umm 3200+(?) Sempron is the best because YES they do have all the instruction sets. You can OC them really good w/ a stable MSI board w/ an nF3 chipset and all. BTW i dont think they have PCI-E for s754. If im mistaken im sorry lol. If i can play BF2, Oblivion, and Hl2 Lost Coast max settings on a Socekt A w/ a 9800XT (LAN Machine which is sold) then that machine will own. Just make sure it has a decent amount of ram.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 05:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default

They do make a 3700+ clawhammer for socket 754.
__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 06:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

There ARE socket 754 PCI-E boards, they're just not easy to come by...at the moment, I can't find any on Newegg, however.

I too say go with the Semprons. If you plan to run Linux on this machine as you say, you can stick a nice 64-bit distro on it and it'll run nicely (I say this from experience).
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.