So...went with the G.Skill Ram - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-07-2007, 11:56 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default Re: So...went with the G.Skill Ram

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
Not true with all products.

I can say for certain that my labtop did not go back to newegg it went to IBM. (lenova)
And I can say for certain that my motherboard and RAM(not the RAM we're talking about though) both went to newegg when I had troubles with them.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 12:02 AM   #22 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: So...went with the G.Skill Ram

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingAustin View Post
And I can say for certain that my motherboard and RAM(not the RAM we're talking about though) both went to newegg when I had troubles with them.
Difference is, you stated
"If you buy from newegg, you RMA back to newegg. RMA stands for return merchandise authorization (number).
"
Which means all Products.

Which is not true, I understand for some products, like your RMA's but when you say something you need to make appropriate considerations.

In the end it is up to him to read the enclosed warranty statement that came with his product and figure it out for himself.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 12:06 AM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default Re: So...went with the G.Skill Ram

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
Difference is, you stated
"If you buy from newegg, you RMA back to newegg. RMA stands for return merchandise authorization (number).
"
Which means all Products.

Which is not true, I understand for some products, like your RMA's but when you say something you need to make appropriate considerations.

In the end it is up to him to read the enclosed warranty statement that came with his product and figure it out for himself.
well you also had RMA= Return to manufacturing address which also isn't true :-p

But yes, read the warranty information on the site.
__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 12:19 AM   #24 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: So...went with the G.Skill Ram

Aye, at least in ignorance we are not alone. (Which is not comforting.)
Ste is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 12:29 AM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default Re: So...went with the G.Skill Ram

Well, for starters, I just bought that same kit less than a month ago and have been using a 1gb stick since Oct. (3gb total now) and they've been running great at 2.2V

I'm thinking that the reason the voltage rating changed wasn't because the sticks kept dying but because the newer models have been made of less quality to be able to offer them for a HUGE discount. A 2gb kit was $300 in Oct...now the prices are 1/3 of that!

I wouldn't suggest you up the voltage past 2.2V just because you don't need to. Maybe later on once you're willing to lose them push them to the limit or something but just be safe for now just in case. Like the other guy said, you should be able to OC these like crazy even without the high voltage and Core 2 Duo chips hardly benefit from low timings anyways.


Quote:
Originally Posted by spartan1121 View Post
Don't you void your warranty when you overclock?
I'm pretty sure G.Skill's warrenty would cover that, afterall they pride themselves as the best overclocking RAM. Their "100% Lifetime warrenty" may be limited but it doesn't say it.
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 12:35 AM   #26 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: So...went with the G.Skill Ram

Yea G.skill Most likely will cover that and send you a new stick if you fry it because the pride themselves as "The Ultimate OC" and since the HZ's are their pretty much king overclocking ram i don't see why not.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 02:57 AM   #27 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: So...went with the G.Skill Ram

Quote:
Originally Posted by jordo_99 View Post
because the newer models have been made of less quality to be able to offer them for a HUGE discount.
No, they are still made of D9GMH, D9GKX or D9GCT, so they are of just as good a quality. If you notice, ALL RAM has suddenly gone cheaper, eveyerone is just selling it at more competitive prices.
joshd is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 06:43 AM   #28 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: So...went with the G.Skill Ram

hey i couldnt even get my hz's to 900mhz with up do a 2.15voltage! i guess i couldnt send em bak coz nobody assures that o/c will go well. or would this be an exception since as said the ultimate o/c slogan they have.
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
choosing my new mobo raza New Systems | Building and Buying 12 05-31-2007 04:24 AM
Which RAM would you choose..? 2gb... help a newb!! OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 7 04-14-2007 06:28 PM
Guess what? Another new build thread! ycoidi2000 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 04-08-2007 08:30 PM
Awesome X2 Overclockers Budget Gaming Build Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-07-2007 01:43 PM
G.Skill Ram Series sammybaines New Systems | Building and Buying 2 03-28-2007 09:19 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.