So, I'm not so good with hardware.

Status
Not open for further replies.

DarkS7ar

Solid State Member
I've decided I want to take my Christmas money and upgrade my system. Unfortunately I'm not very good at picking good hardware for what I want to do so I would really appreciate anyone who could provide input on any of the current deals on websites.

I will be replacing my motherboard, graphics card, processor, and RAM so it's pretty much a clean slate. I'll be keeping my 500gb SATA HDD, my 40GB IDE HDD, my light scribe DVD, and my 550w PSU. I'll also be running Windows 7 premium.

I would like to be able to run Modern Warfare 2 on it's highest settings without lag, as well as WoW. My one stipulation is I want a EVGA brand card, because their lifetime warranty is a lifesaver. SLI capability would be nice, but not something I think I can afford at the present.

My current budget is $200 which I know will not buy all the pieces but I'm hoping to get suggestions for the mobo, processor, and RAM at least.

I've always been a AMD fanboy but I'm willing to convert to Intel if I can get more power for less money.

So, can anyone help me this Christmas day? Did I not give information I should have?

Give us some more info.

What case do you currently have? What RAM you you currently have? Is the DVD SATA or PATA? You might have to start smaller as $200 for CPU/mobo/RAM ain't much.

What mobo/CPU do you currently have? Maybe we can upgrade what is already in place.

I currently have a AMD Athlon 64 3700+ 2.21GHz with a Gb of Kingston HyperX PC... 4000? Ram. I'm not sure about that ram though and opening the case currently isn't an option with kids in bed waiting for Santa. I have a GeForce 7900 GT/GTO Graphics card.
I know my mobo is a Asus but I don't know the model number at the present. I do know it needs to be replaced though since it has no PCI-E ports (yep, it's that old) which is why I haven't upgraded the video card.