So I'm gonna switch to Intel...please enlighten me - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Old 12-12-2006, 12:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Default So I'm gonna switch to Intel...please enlighten me

Alright, let me give you some background...This is gonna be my first computer build. I've been running a refurbished Netvista for the past 6-7 years, so this should be very exciting!

I was all set on building an AMD machine...
AMD x2
Asus M2R32-MVP
Seagate 320GB
OCZ Dual Channel DDR2 CrossFire Certified Memory
OCZ GameXStream 700-Watt Power Supply
Aspire X-Cruiser
and then top it all off with a high end graphics card (maybe when the x1950xtx comes down a hair in price)

Now, after reading up some more, I think i have changed my mind and will go with the Core2Duo E6600! But I spent so long trying to find all of the right components I wanted to go with the AMD set up, and I'm very much a I'm having trouble finding comparable components for the C2D setup. I want a good gaming computer, and I will probably give a hand at overclocking just for fun. I play a lot of Flight Simulator, and the new Flight SImulator X is extremly demanding. I also don't want to pay for something that is way more then i'll ever use (ie a $300 motherboard will probably have more whistles then i'll ever blow on it).

That being said...i think that RAM i've picked is probably not the best bet for me, and I like that powersupply, but I'm not sure it is enough Amps to run ATI (website says 30amps is ideal). I really wanna run crossfire at some point, and thats where i bottlenecked on finding a mobo! I don't have a problem spending a little more for good, 'top tier' products...i'd like to stay around the $1500 range.

I know this was long, but ANY help would be great...thanks in advance for helping out a newbie!

Old 12-12-2006, 04:14 PM   #2 (permalink)