so im about to buy.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-19-2006, 11:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 261
Default so im about to buy..

wanted to wait until the absolute most pieces i am getting was on sale or had a rebate, this is what i got

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130015

(for opty 165)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131524

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227210

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144160

then i can get them, and send in rebates, wait for my next paycheck or two, and get the rest

(opty 165, psu, etc)

would you guys make any last minute changes, or think it would be a bad time to buy?
__________________

wiouxev is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 12:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 261
Default

oh.


and i plan on overclocking.
__________________

wiouxev is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 12:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

Drop the rapter and get a this.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148140
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 12:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 261
Default

Its not room I need, ive had a 60gb hardrive for 5 years. yes i know , its sickening ive had that computer so long, and it literally died on me the other day. it just wont work anymore for numerous reasons.

but yeah, i had a 60gb harddrive for like 5 years, only filled up 55, and thats with a bunch of crap i dont need. if i need to upgrade in the future, i can buy a secondary hd for slave. but if you're saying that one is just as fast as the raptor, i would consider....
wiouxev is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 12:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by wiouxev
oh.


and i plan on overclocking.
drop the corsair XMS ram and get OCZ, preferably GOLD series

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227210

Its $150 after the MIR, a pretty good deal for great OCing ram.
Spartan is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 01:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 261
Default

ok then switched.

is everything compatible, and is the motherboard really good for ocing the opty?
wiouxev is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 01:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

traditionally, DFI's are the best mobos for OCing. Asus and MSI are high-quality mobos, however. It should OC the opty 165 just fine.

jw, are you getting an aftermarket heatsink for cooling??
Spartan is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 01:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 261
Default

do you have aim?
wiouxev is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 01:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

me?? yeah, Spartan2689. You could have just PMed me, lol
__________________

Spartan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.