so i built a new rig... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2008, 12:15 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 187
Send a message via AIM to Skeeg
Default Re: so i built a new rig...

im not stressing over it, just wanted the best..... and for now its fine and i needed a new computer bad as one i have now is still AGP or what it is for the GFX so i dont even care... i will update around x-mas for the deals and for the drop in prices.

really tho, is the performance from the new CPU and gddr3 ram that much greater? and will anything even be able to take full effect on it wen it is released?

and on a side note... how does that monitor look?
__________________

Skeeg is offline  
Old 08-03-2008, 01:05 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: so i built a new rig...

^ddr3, not gddr3,,,,it will be good, the cpu might not gain much in games though, just in multi threaded applications. That monitor looks good, i prefer samsung though.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 08-03-2008, 01:18 AM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: so i built a new rig...

The type of RAM doesn't matter, HD 2900xt was still slower than a 8800gts 640mb.

Performance matters most, thats where benches come in
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-03-2008, 01:19 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 187
Send a message via AIM to Skeeg
Default

g, no g... all the same... got my mem. and gpu mem mixed up.

also, i know the 32bit can only use 3.5gb of ram or what it is... with 64bit, how much ram can it use?

and you guys know any good guides on how to build a computer... just so i dont mess anything up haha.
Skeeg is offline  
Old 08-03-2008, 01:26 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: so i built a new rig...

Quote:
with 64bit, how much ram can it use?
as much as u want
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 08-03-2008, 04:43 AM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: so i built a new rig...

wow that psu is massive overkill xD. and the 780i isnt really all that good unless u got sli which i might have missed.

but yeah dun stress about the new cpu's. things like this happen, it doesnt matter wen u upgrade theres always new revision or price cuts cuming ne way.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 08-03-2008, 08:21 AM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: so i built a new rig...

if there is possibly going to be another 280 on in this rig then it's not really overkill...
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 08-03-2008, 03:32 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 187
Send a message via AIM to Skeeg
Default Re: so i built a new rig...

i am forsure getting another 280 to go sli... i just didnt want to spend the extra 500 or so dollars for it right off the bat.
Skeeg is offline  
Old 08-04-2008, 03:06 AM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 187
Send a message via AIM to Skeeg
Default Re: so i built a new rig...

just thought i would share... since everyone was telling me i should of waited... my score in 3dmark06 was...... 3477 3DMarks ..... yes, that is right. 0fps on cpu tests lol. avg was like 9fps on gfx tests.

cant wait for the new computer.... wonder if ill notice a performance increase hahaha
Skeeg is offline  
Old 08-04-2008, 09:57 AM   #20 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: so i built a new rig...

^not as low as vernong's score
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First rig being built - Thoughts and suggestions Method New Systems | Building and Buying 9 08-08-2008 09:38 AM
Striker II Extreme 790i, new rig problem. System slow? manowar Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 07-09-2008 05:15 AM
My New Alienware ALX Rig... KNiGHTMaRe89 New Systems | Building and Buying 41 02-25-2008 10:15 PM
New rig on it's way. Phoenix219 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 01-13-2008 10:41 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.