So I built it and....... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-09-2006, 10:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 38
Default So I built it and.......

Ok so after serious worries I bought and built. A friend came over and helped me through some of the tough stuff..

My specs:
3700 san diego
7800gt
gigabyte sli board
1 gig corsair value ram second gig still on the way
120 WD hd
Fortron 450w psu


So here is the question. Put it together and loaded Win XP 64bit
No problems until the speakers started working. Only one side is working. Here is the kicker, the top earphone hook up which is connected differently to the MB is also only getting one side the right side

When I jiggle the back connection and pull it out half way I can get both sides to work, so I would have thought that it was the connection or the wire going to the back from the speakers, but if the top has the same problem I think its something else?

Would the 64bit windows have anything to do with it? Ever heard of a MB just having this one problem and everything else working on it?
__________________

Cuthroat is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 11:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 303
Default

i dont know the problem, (except it wouldn
t be the windows xp) but here's an idea: keep it halfway out. It's just logic.
__________________

__________________
Getting a new computer: specs coming soon...
KryptoKnight is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 12:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 38
Default

Errr.. that doesnt seem like a good answer. When the wire is halfway out it doesnt stay perfect.. the sound goes in and out.

Could the MB be bad and only throwing one side? this just doesnt make sense.
Cuthroat is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 12:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 303
Default

oh sorry didn't know that... Well I think there's definetly a problem with the mobo. It might be faulty. Try it on another computer(the mobo I mean) and see what happens.
__________________
Getting a new computer: specs coming soon...
KryptoKnight is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 01:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

64bit windows is a problem. Check that the drivers you are using supports 64bit.

May sound stupid, but check the connection. I pulled out the plug just enough so the sound only came out of one side.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.