So, how is this supposed to work? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-29-2008, 01:56 AM   #21 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: So, how is this supposed to work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hitmanj View Post
what is SLi and what is crossfire?
Its when you run two video cards together. Crossfire is doing that with two ATI branded cards and SLI is when you do it with NVIDIA cards.
__________________

zedman3d is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 02:06 AM   #22 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kenyon, Minnesota
Posts: 405
Default Re: So, how is this supposed to work?

Is it possible to have 4 displays on this?
Inferno Deals- Your Place for Computer Components, Electronics, Video Cards, Digital Cameras, and MORE!!!
__________________

Inferno is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 04:52 AM   #23 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: So, how is this supposed to work?

I assume so yeah, it does have 4 DVI ports and runs internal crossfire so yeah.
zedman3d is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 09:46 AM   #24 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 97
Default Re: So, how is this supposed to work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zedman3d View Post
Its when you run two video cards together. Crossfire is doing that with two ATI branded cards and SLI is when you do it with NVIDIA cards.
ok thanks for clarifying that, but i also seen how you guys where talking about using two monitors, which would i need to do that? SLi or crossfire?
hitmanj is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 11:54 AM   #25 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kenyon, Minnesota
Posts: 405
Default Re: So, how is this supposed to work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zedman3d View Post
I assume so yeah, it does have 4 DVI ports and runs internal crossfire so yeah.
What I was thinking, but could your run 3 in a panoramic setup (been something I've wanted to do for flight simulators, real ones, since my father is a pilot, and I'll be on my way to my liscense when I get time.)
Inferno is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 11:57 AM   #26 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: So, how is this supposed to work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hitmanj View Post
ok thanks for clarifying that, but i also seen how you guys where talking about using two monitors, which would i need to do that? SLi or crossfire?
You don't need SLI or Crossfire for 2 monitors... in fact you CAN'T use 2 monitors most times when using SLI or Crossfire. To use 2 monitors either get two cards, or get one card that has 2 DVI ports (most due these days).
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 10:11 PM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: So, how is this supposed to work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by surgeVel View Post
You don't need SLI or Crossfire for 2 monitors... in fact you CAN'T use 2 monitors most times when using SLI or Crossfire. To use 2 monitors either get two cards, or get one card that has 2 DVI ports (most due these days).
Yeah.. I'm going to be getting a PCI card along with one of the new cards ati/nvidia are releasing. So that way I will save a few $$$ and not worry about the problems of crossfire/sli.
__________________

alexsabree is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's your work schedule like? Ethereal_Dragon Off Topic Discussion 21 08-29-2007 09:54 AM
Windows Mobile 4.2 Work and Internet Connection SandyP84 Microsoft Windows and Software 0 08-21-2007 09:52 AM
Unlock iPhone is supposed to unlock the Apple iPhone Osiris Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 0 07-14-2007 06:28 PM
Trying to get a D-link wireless router to work Inziladun Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 7 06-04-2007 04:33 PM
My Old 98-95 computer wont work..read on....... bacus23 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-13-2007 04:39 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.