slow raptor? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-17-2006, 05:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default slow raptor?

it may just be me but my 74gb raptor feels really slow lately, I’ve done numerous virus and spyware scans, along with scandisks and defrag yet no luck, any suggestions, or a programme I can use to test its performance, im sure something’s wrong
__________________

harry18 is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 05:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

You might want to check to see how many programs are running in startup. Generaly, you only want to have your Anitvirus running in startup. Go to Run>msconfig and hit the startup tab and uncheck everything but you antivirus software. Reboot and see what happens.
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 05:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

yea all i have on start up is msn and avast, i have about 5 things in the processoprs tab in the task mananger, but there all tiny, like the printer spooler
harry18 is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 05:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

I would RMA that drive then. That thing should smoke. mine do!!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 06:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 154
Default

I wouldn't be so quick to RMA, personally, I had my 150GB Raptor X fail on me, I found this tool provided by WD to be very helpful in diagnosing before failure, it's a good diagnosis tool, at the least, it wouldn't do you any harm to run it.. http://support.wdc.com/download/inde...n&pid=1&swid=1
__________________
[SIZE=\"1\"][COLOR=\"Red\"]Case:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] MountainMods U2-UFO[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]PSU:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] PCP&C 1kW EPS12V[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Motherboard:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] ASUS P5NSLI[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Blue\"] (Yeah, I know!)[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Processor:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] Retail Core 2 Duo X6800[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Blue\"] Week 26/B2[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]RAM:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] 2x1GB OCZ Platinum Rev.2 DDR2-800[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]VGA:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] 1x eVGA 7950GX2[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Sound Card:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] SB X-Fi XM[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]HDD:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] 2x Raptor 150GB in RAID 0/1x 500GB WD Caviar[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Optical:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] Plextor DVD-R DL PX-716AL[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Speakers:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] Logitech z-5500[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Fans:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] 9x YL D12SM-12[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Lime\"]Water-Cooling:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] MCP355 w/AlphaCool top/PA120.3/AQX MP-05 SP LE/Silverprop Cyclone NexusSX chipset block[/COLOR]
[/SIZE]
dwarf is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 06:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

When did you last install Windows? If you can spare the space, get Partition Magic, make an extra partition from the one you have, and install Windows on that drive. IF you can tell a difference right away I would reformat and reinstall windows on the entire drive. That's just what windows does after a while.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-18-2006, 08:49 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

You can use Everest Home Edition to check the condition. I would format the drive like AnthraX said.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 07-18-2006, 01:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
CECS Major
 
Chase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 387
Send a message via MSN to Chase Send a message via Yahoo to Chase
Default

Yea, PC wizard works about the same as Everest, but I would also run some bench tests with PC Wiz on it to see what kind of rates you are looking at corresponding to normal Raptor rates. And if none of this helps...reformat...

::-Chase-::
Chase is offline  
Old 07-18-2006, 02:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

ok, i used pc wiard, ran a benchmark and got this:

harry18 is offline  
Old 07-18-2006, 10:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
CECS Major
 
Chase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 387
Send a message via MSN to Chase Send a message via Yahoo to Chase
Default

I was comparing your bench to some others I googled up online an it does seem that your Raptor is to a certain degree slower than some others that I have been looking at. If you have tried everything you can, I would RMA it. You may have just gotten a faulty one, which happens with every electronic device to someone, so don't worry, just RMA and you should be fine.

::-Chase-::
__________________

Chase is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.