Is SLI worth it? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2006, 09:03 PM   #21 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

until either SLI's performance closely matches the cost of 2 cards or i win the lottery i will never use it. face it unless you have money to burn its a waste of money.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 09:50 AM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 19
Default

Thanks everyone. I'll see what is out there when I build.
Thanks again
__________________

Tyggr181 is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 01:11 PM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

forgetting money as a factor and bias'ness sli in general, will i get better performance. on a single monitor that has a max resolution of 1280x1024. and the reason i suggested sli 7800gt's is because instead of buying a 7900gt for the same price i figured id get more performance out of an sli 7800gt rather than A 7900gt.
__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 01:37 PM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default

sli is extremely not worth the money it costs to implement!

many gpu cards are is powerful as two gpus in sli. i.e. an x1900 is as powerfull as 2 7800gtx's w/256mb each' in sli and not near the cost
__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 02:33 AM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

I would never use SLI cause after a while you would have to upgrade any way... no matter how many you hook up together, the technology would change. So y spend so much on a sli setup???
alexsabree is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 02:38 AM   #26 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

I wouldn't get a new card period.

1.Does not support DX10
2.Does not support high definition DVD playback from Blu-Ray or HD-Dvd.

Why even build a computer right now? AM2 and Vista is right around the corner.
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 02:51 AM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

I think it really doesnt pay to wait on anything, cause theres always something new coming "around the corner"
True but arguable.....
alexsabree is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 03:06 AM   #28 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
and the reason i suggested sli 7800gt's is because instead of buying a 7900gt for the same price i figured id get more performance out of an sli 7800gt rather than A 7900gt.
i don't know how different prices are in the US but around here the pricing for the 7900gt looks around about the same as the 7800gt was just a week ago
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 09:33 AM   #29 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

most ppl will tell you SLI is not worth it. the performance gain from 2 video cards in gameplay is typically 25-30%...so unless you have money burning a hole in your wallet, hold off on SLI or Crossfire until ati or nvidia find a more efficient way to use 2 cards to create a 80+% performance increase compared to one card
Spartan is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 10:39 AM   #30 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ulater6000
sli is extremely not worth the money it costs to implement!

many gpu cards are is powerful as two gpus in sli. i.e. an x1900 is as powerfull as 2 7800gtx's w/256mb each' in sli and not near the cost
Proof?
__________________

NeedAcpu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.