Is SLI worth it? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2006, 09:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 19
Question Is SLI worth it?

I was looking forward to building my new computer and was thinking about what to get. I was thinking about getting an SLI m/b and going with the dual videocards eventually. Just to start with one card. But looking at some of these threads it shows that so far SLI doesn't really show much advantages if any. Should I save money and get a single nice vid card or wait and go for the dual, maybe it would be better down the road. What are you guys thoughts.
Thanks
Mike
__________________

Tyggr181 is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 10:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

get a nice single card. in my opinion sli is far to expensive at the moment for the performance it provides. in general performance figures are not that much higher unless you want to play at extremely high resolutions
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 11:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Dante_Caligari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 444
Send a message via MSN to Dante_Caligari
Default

Agreed.
__________________
<img src="http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e372/dante_caligari/newsig_7_expL.jpg">
<font face=tahoma color=red size=1>Knowledge is power.</font></td></table>
Dante_Caligari is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 11:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

SLI/Crossfire: The Cold Hard Truth
http://techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=79791

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 11:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dante_Caligari
Agreed.
i second that
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 12:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 321
Default

SLI has greatly improved. I oredered 2 7900gt's because they perform better than a single x1900xtx and cost only a little more. SLI is maturing as a technology and with driver updates to the 7900 series it should perform even better in the future.
waytoosmall is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 02:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

True but it's also $150 more depending on which model you get.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 02:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

If I was building my comp right now I would get SLI 7900 gt's. Seriously SLI is really good now. SLI 7900 gt's will eat up any game you throw at it and for $600 you can't beat it.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 03:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Personally, I think "if" the PPU ever takes a hold on the gaming community and becomes available and has software support, that will be destroy any multi_gpu configuration.

CPU - Calculations
GPU - Render & Display
PPU - Motion & Interaction

That's where it's at... I"m really hoping ageia will pull this off.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 03:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

The PPU won't come out for a while and even when it does its coming out with a PCI version which doesnt give it enough bandwith to seriously increase performace. Maybe a PPU will be better a few years in the future but for now I believe SLI will own any PPU set up. Plus dx10 is coming with that crytek.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.