SLI a waste of $? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-31-2005, 11:04 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Does everybody really think SLI is the future? From the way its going, it looks like SLI means just as much to the future of gaming as Shader Model 3.0.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 11:14 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
Does everybody really think SLI is the future? From the way its going, it looks like SLI means just as much to the future of gaming as Shader Model 3.0.
No...until game instruction sets are actually written to send multiple threads to the core as that is the whole purpose of multiple cores, SLI has absolutely no future as the current method of SLI rendering has been designed very poorly

If you're naive enough to think SLI is the future you might as well stop producing more powerful cards and just keep adding more and more existing cards to your PC to DOUBLE your performance
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 11:18 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Well if they keep it up, they will take those dual gpu cards, and put them in SLI x4. So 8 gpu's in total, that would pwn!!1!1!!one!11!!!11!!
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 11:24 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Not really...even if you look at the upgradability of SLI it's greatly exagerated

Imagine if SLI had been introduced doing GeForce 5 era and nvidia had stopped producing any newer GPUs and simply suggested that you continue adding cards as needed...by today's standards, what would be the better alternative? 8 FX5900 Ultra cards in SLI or a single 7800GTX...many would argue that the FX5900 configuration is superior, however if you start to factor in other things such as power use and outdated instruction sets the 7800 clearly becomes the better option, despite being less powerful
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 02:56 AM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

I've heard & read that "CROSSFIRE" is compatible with every game. Were as SLI needs Profiles for each game. Now, since CROSSFIRE isn't really out yet, this is "He said, She said." I'll really believe it when I see it.

But, I think (Dual Card) solutions aren't exactly useless. Yes, you can get by with (1) highend card. But, with games getting more and more demanding, I think it's nice to have (2) cards.

Gamers who want to run:
1.) Highest Screen Resolutions
2.) Highest Game Video Settings
No loss of performance.

Also, with the combination or the soon to be PPU, Higher end CPU and audio 64MB XRAM like X-fi offers... Games will now kneel before you and say, "Your my daddy."

This is all in theory... LOL
HAVOC is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 04:08 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

it's just insane to think that games will need yet another processor...a processor solely for physics....INSANE I TELL YOU.

That going to be a seperate card in a PCI-E 1x slot or what, or is there even any info on them yet.

still, I'd rather go with a Dual GPU if they just HAVE to double something up...much better solution that SLI IMO....
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 08:08 AM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I thought I saw this physics card have it's own internal port up by the CPU in a picture. Maybe I'm hallucinating, but if I remember right, there was a cartridge looking thing north of the CPU.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 11:09 AM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default

I'm not sure if I like SLI yet or not, not that ive done it yet, even though I have an SLI bored. I got mine for the same price as the single VGA. But I also wanted it because when the 7800gts come down in price, I can run two of them, and theyll be able to last longer without me needing to upgrade to a brand new card and fork out more cash. But from reading your guys responses it sounds like SLI could go somewhere after more things are done with it, in the futuure, not in the present.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 12:52 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 20
Default

Well check this out. Not sure if yall have seen this but, here it is. They dont have SLI bridges on them but, its still crazy.

http://www.tomshardware.com/motherbo...004/index.html
erth is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 01:12 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default

haha ya i saw that a couple weeks ago. Its insane. I would never do it though. Didnt it say something about something being slower? I mean 4 video cards for one game, come on. No game for a very long time would ever be able to NEED 4 7800GTXs. Or even GT's.
__________________

__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.