SLI upgrade and Windows 7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2009, 01:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 156
Default SLI upgrade and Windows 7

Just decided to upgrade my comp a bit and while i'm at it do a clean install of Windows 7. My question is, while im doing this, are there any good install or performance tweaks I can do for games. One specific question is: How should I partition my HD while installing windows 7? I have a separate TB hd for data and media so I assume I would just install games and apps along with windows on the same partition. Or is it better to create a separate partition for windows and one for games/apps? Also, has anyone found any problems with using Windows 7 for gaming? And does daemon tools work on it as well?
And lastly, the upgrade that I mentioned earlier is going to be an SLI set up, have there been any reported problems with SLI or Nvidia drivers on Windows 7?

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Core-i7 930
Asus P6X58D Premium
6gb Mushkin DDR3
EVGA GTX 480
OCZ-Vertex SSD
------------------------------
Q6600 (G0) @ Stock
Nvidia 8800GT x2 SLI @ Stock
4GB DDR2-PC6400 @ Stock
500GB Sata + 1TB
Evga 780i
masteroc is offline  
Old 09-09-2009, 03:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: SLI upgrade and Windows 7

I used to create a separate partition for games. Honestly, I noticed to difference or advantage to it. Now, I just prefer to have the OS on one HDD and data on another.

Games have run just fine for me on 7. Daemon Tools says it won't work (or rather that it has known compatibility issues) but I've installed it anyway and had no problems.

I have SLI and everything runs smooth with no problems.
__________________

__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 09-09-2009, 04:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: SLI upgrade and Windows 7

I'm running TRI-285 on win7 and it runs buttery smooth. Havent had any issues at all. Personally i always try to keep my OS and games seperate just because reinstall so often.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-09-2009, 05:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: SLI upgrade and Windows 7

My SLI setup and Windows 7 is working Fabulous

I don't bother partitioning up my HD's anymore. I just buy another HD.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 09-09-2009, 08:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 156
Default Re: SLI upgrade and Windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
I'm running TRI-285 on win7 and it runs buttery smooth. Havent had any issues at all. Personally i always try to keep my OS and games seperate just because reinstall so often.
Oh, for some reason I thought that the games entered themselves into the registry and/or had problems if you reinstalled the OS (even if they were on a second HD)!
__________________
Core-i7 930
Asus P6X58D Premium
6gb Mushkin DDR3
EVGA GTX 480
OCZ-Vertex SSD
------------------------------
Q6600 (G0) @ Stock
Nvidia 8800GT x2 SLI @ Stock
4GB DDR2-PC6400 @ Stock
500GB Sata + 1TB
Evga 780i
masteroc is offline  
Old 09-09-2009, 09:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: SLI upgrade and Windows 7

He probably means the installers for the games. It wont work like that if you reformat and have them on a 2nd HDD installed already.
__________________
4670K @ 4.4GHz 1.18v | GA-Z87X-UD4H | 8GB G. Skill 1866 | 128GB Crucial M4 | 750GB WD Caviar Black | MSI 7850 Twin Frozr | Megahalems | 650TX | CM690
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 09-09-2009, 10:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 156
Default Re: SLI upgrade and Windows 7

Ah, ok. I was pretty sure it didnt, just wanted to make sure I wasn't missing something
__________________
Core-i7 930
Asus P6X58D Premium
6gb Mushkin DDR3
EVGA GTX 480
OCZ-Vertex SSD
------------------------------
Q6600 (G0) @ Stock
Nvidia 8800GT x2 SLI @ Stock
4GB DDR2-PC6400 @ Stock
500GB Sata + 1TB
Evga 780i
masteroc is offline  
Old 09-10-2009, 10:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: SLI upgrade and Windows 7

When you reinstall Windows you will need to reinstall your games...even if they are on a separate HDD.
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 09-10-2009, 04:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: SLI upgrade and Windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by synergy View Post
When you reinstall Windows you will need to reinstall your games...even if they are on a separate HDD.
Depends on the game. Some games (World of Warcraft) doesnt require a reinstall. I'd probably end up losing my mind if i had to reinstall that everytime i reinstalled my OS. But its simple enough to keep the game files on a separate drive and just reinstall to it after an OS reinstall. It's much faster also.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-10-2009, 05:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 156
Default Re: SLI upgrade and Windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Depends on the game. Some games (World of Warcraft) doesnt require a reinstall. I'd probably end up losing my mind if i had to reinstall that everytime i reinstalled my OS. But its simple enough to keep the game files on a separate drive and just reinstall to it after an OS reinstall. It's much faster also.
Exactly what I plan on doing!
__________________

__________________
Core-i7 930
Asus P6X58D Premium
6gb Mushkin DDR3
EVGA GTX 480
OCZ-Vertex SSD
------------------------------
Q6600 (G0) @ Stock
Nvidia 8800GT x2 SLI @ Stock
4GB DDR2-PC6400 @ Stock
500GB Sata + 1TB
Evga 780i
masteroc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 FAQ and Questions KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 1600 03-04-2013 11:29 PM
can i install windows from a copied cd onto a licenced pc? raverx3m Microsoft Windows and Software 19 07-23-2009 03:08 PM
List of News Prototype New Technology and Products 4 10-29-2008 04:29 AM
The many versions of XP EricB Microsoft Windows and Software 6 10-26-2008 02:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.