SLI Questions - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2008, 06:21 PM   #21 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: SLI Questions

Thats why new boards are pci-e 2.0 which is essentially 32x
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 04-10-2008, 06:21 PM   #22 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: SLI Questions

well the card definitely doesn't use up all of the x16 bandwidth, but it might be the problem here. lets say just for proving a point, that the the card uses up x10 of the x16 allocated bandwidth. so if you use 2 of those cards in sli, then you are loosing out on x2 of the cards potential. I don't know if this is true, it would take research and such to prove it, but its possible.

also its true generally with any type of sli or crossfire, that the rule is its better to have the next model up then 2 of the model below.

so it would be better to have 1 gts/gtx/ultra then to have 2 gt's. I know its true with the gt vs gtx, not sure about the gt vs gts though.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 04-10-2008, 06:24 PM   #23 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: SLI Questions

I know my performance definately took a hit when i was running that 650i at 8x/8x while my current board was in RMA. So its definately a possiblity that the new cards use more than 8x bandwidth.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 04-10-2008, 06:31 PM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 213
Default Re: SLI Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter.Cort View Post

also its true generally with any type of sli or crossfire, that the rule is its better to have the next model up then 2 of the model below.

so it would be better to have 1 gts/gtx/ultra then to have 2 gt's. I know its true with the gt vs gtx, not sure about the gt vs gts though.
Ya but I bought the GT when it first came out... those gts 512 wasnt out yet... wich sux for me lol but doesnt matter looks as if my mobo is queer anyway... wait can i say that if not im sorry lol
__________________
www.outotune.com
MSI P6N SLI-FI NForce 650i
E6300
2x1gigs 667mhz OCZ
36gb Raptor
80gig SATA Hitachi HD
500gb Seagate 32mb Cache HD
EVGA 8800GT SC 512mb
Ultra X2 X-connect 550w PSU
ProView 22" 1680x1050
BuddyRo is offline  
Old 04-10-2008, 06:32 PM   #25 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: SLI Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter.Cort View Post
well the card definitely doesn't use up all of the x16 bandwidth, but it might be the problem here. lets say just for proving a point, that the the card uses up x10 of the x16 allocated bandwidth. so if you use 2 of those cards in sli, then you are loosing out on x2 of the cards potential. I don't know if this is true, it would take research and such to prove it, but its possible.

also its true generally with any type of sli or crossfire, that the rule is its better to have the next model up then 2 of the model below.

so it would be better to have 1 gts/gtx/ultra then to have 2 gt's. I know its true with the gt vs gtx, not sure about the gt vs gts though.
Unless its 2 GX2's
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 04-10-2008, 06:37 PM   #26 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: SLI Questions

well if you're running 2 gx2's on a x8/x8 sli board. then we need to have a conversation...and not the hi how was your day kind of conversation.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 04-10-2008, 06:42 PM   #27 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: SLI Questions

I'm actually somewhat afraid that my 16x/16x wont be able to keep up.
*ponders a 750i FTW.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 04-10-2008, 07:11 PM   #28 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: SLI Questions

790i ftw.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 04-11-2008, 12:08 PM   #29 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: SLI Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter.Cort View Post
790i ftw.
Meh...ddr3. Plus the 750i FTW is only 189.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All New NVIDIA Chipsets to Feature IGP and Hybrid SLI maroon1 New Technology and Products 6 05-06-2008 04:19 PM
SLI + Dual Monitors WORKS.... Black Falcon 921 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 03-22-2008 10:34 AM
New Triple SLI Machine Rhym3z New Systems | Building and Buying 8 01-29-2008 02:32 PM
NVIDIA Launching 3 way SLI Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 12-12-2007 09:55 PM
Intel X38 Supports SLI ? maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 09-19-2007 03:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.