SLI Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2010, 01:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default SLI Question

Lets see if I am understanding this SLI right....Slaymate, I know you are up on this.

I now own a XFX GTX260 Black Edition......I am thinking of getting this BFG GTX 260 card.
BFG BFGEGTX260MC896OCDE Geforce GTX 260 896MB PCI Express x16 (2.0v) Video Card Retail at ZipZoomfly

Both cards have 896 mb of vram.....but the core clocks and the shader clocks and the memory clocks are different.

Am I correct , when I say that if I get EVGA Percision and make all of the clocks on the core, memory and shader the same.....that these 2 cards will work in sli with no problem?

If so will it matter what card I have in the primary slot?

That BFG GTX 260 that I list from zipzoomfly seems to be the cheapest card that I can find that is 216 streaming processors....it is $181 with free shipping........

Am I correct in all of this and will it be a nice upgrade?

Any tips you guys have for sli , I would love to hear them, as this is my first time at trying it.....
__________________

__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 01-06-2010, 01:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: SLI Question

they will work in SLI no problem, regardless of the different clocks. the slower of the two will just downclock the other card so both match. then you can OC both.

i don't think it matters which card goes in theprimary slot

it should be a pretty nice upgrade... especially at high reso's
__________________

__________________
EVGA E758 A1 | Core i7 920 @ 4ghz | 6GB DDR3 1600 OCZ Gold | XFX 6870 CF | Corsair TX850 | Cooler Master HAF 932 | Water Cooled
Burn is offline  
Old 01-06-2010, 06:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: SLI Question

It depends upon your motherboard somewhat. With my mobo, the card in the primary slot controls the speed of both cards. But with your older 680i mobo I think the slower card will control the speeds.

But, if you use EVGA Precision, you can just pick which card you want in control (see highlighted image below) and press the sync button (if needed). And then you can make adjustments to one card and it applies the settings to both. You can also monitor your temperatures and frames per seconds in game with the On Screen Display (OSD) option.



Edit: I originally bought a standard speed EVGA GTX 280 and 2 weeks later I got a deal on a BFG GTX 280 with the same clock speeds, all was well. About a month later the EVGA card died on me, rma'd it with no problems, but they sent me a OC'ed card instead with completely different speeds. I haven't had any problems since. I did buy a nice new heatsink for them about 6 months later. And then I bought an even better heatsink for them a few months after that
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-06-2010, 06:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: SLI Question

I found a guy selling Evga 216 core superclocked edition cards for $135 shipped

granted no more warranty.... but it's over 25% savings over a new card

thought you might be interested?
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 01-06-2010, 07:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default

Thanks Slaymate....I have already downloaded EVGA Precision, so I will be all ready once my new card arrives. EVGA Precision looks pretty easy to use.

Thanks for that link Fat.Clown.......except I have already ordered the BFG GTX260 from zipzoomfly.com

Can anybody post a link of what sli bridge i will need for GTX260.....and where i can buy one.....thanks.
__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 01-06-2010, 08:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: SLI Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whirlwind View Post
Can anybody post a link of what sli bridge i will need for GTX260.....and where i can buy one.....thanks.
neither of the cards came with one? I think I had 2-3 seperate SLI bridges come with my EVGA card.
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 01-06-2010, 09:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: SLI Question

The bridge should be in your mobo box
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-06-2010, 09:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: SLI Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
The bridge should be in your mobo box
Found It


Do video card drivers need to be installed for both cards, or do I just need to throw the other card in and connect the bridge and then enable in bios and Nvidia control panel.

Slaymate...according to EVGA Precision...your cards are going to freeze.......those new heatsinks must be sweet......my one card idles at 46 and thats not bad for stock cooling with fan at 40%
__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 01-07-2010, 08:06 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: SLI Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whirlwind View Post
Found It


Do video card drivers need to be installed for both cards, or do I just need to throw the other card in and connect the bridge and then enable in bios and Nvidia control panel.
Un-install your present drivers. Install the new card and re-install the drivers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whirlwind
Slaymate...according to EVGA Precision...your cards are going to freeze.......those new heatsinks must be sweet......my one card idles at 46 and thats not bad for stock cooling with fan at 40%
Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 and it's compatible with the GTX 260. But it's slightly larger than the stock heatsink

Arctic Cooling Accelero XTREME GTX 280 Products Model: ACCELX280 [ACCELX280] : Performance-PCs.com, ... sleeve it and they will come
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-11-2010, 04:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: SLI Question

5 days after I order the card...zipzoomfly tells me it is out of stock....in the mean time now newegg is out of stock on the same card....good lord
__________________

__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
List of News Prototype New Technology and Products 4 10-29-2008 04:29 AM
COD WAW in 2 weeks Dauntae PC Gaming 8 10-27-2008 04:18 PM
SLI question mack System Upgrades 6 10-03-2008 07:22 AM
SLI ready RAM? Is it any better? What does SLI mean for RAM? StealthTools Overclocking and Modding 12 04-17-2008 09:27 PM
7800gt sli question Schecters System Upgrades 3 09-16-2007 09:24 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.