SLI question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2008, 04:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 30
Default SLI question

right now i have a xfx 8800 gts extreme that was factory oced to 580 core 900 mem and 1300 shader. if i wanted to buy another used one that people are gonna sell when the new nvidia cards come out and sli with with my current. do i need to make sure its the same clock speeds or can i get one with different clock speeds?

thanks
__________________

slopy2nds is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 04:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 98
Default Re: SLI question

i beleive that it will just put the clock of ur Oc'ed one down to the reg one to meet the other card... unless u OC them both.

but it will work as long as u got the same card.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: Asus M51 Series http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16834220308

My Build: Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe || AMD Athalon x2 6000+ (3.25Ghz OC) || AC Freezer 64 Pro || nVidia GeForce 8800GT 512MB || G.Skill 2x 2GB DDR2 800 || Western Digital 500GB 7200 HDD || Samsung 20x DVD Burner || Sunbeam Transformer ATX Full Case || Windows Vista 64 Bit || Rosewill 850W PSU

Logitech G15 Keyboard (new orange version) & Logitech G5 Mouse (black/blue version)

11k 3DMark06 Score
mark1413 is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 12:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: SLI question

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark1413 View Post
i beleive that it will just put the clock of ur Oc'ed one down to the reg one to meet the other card... unless u OC them both.

but it will work as long as u got the same card.
yep, it'll scale lower clocked card, but as said a minor overclock can fix that

I wonder if you can put a 8800gts 320mb and an 8800gts 640mb together, because it is the same card, just different memory amounts
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 03:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 30
Default Re: SLI question

ic well anyone plan on selling a 8800 gts 640 thats not been heavy oced or modded once the new cards come out? and thx mark and vernong
slopy2nds is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 03:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: SLI question

To be honest...i would just sell your gts 640 and buy a gts 512 and stick with a single card solution. A single GTS 512 can play every game on the market at 1920x1200 and max settings other than crysis, and crysis doesnt support SLI. I have a SLI setup with 2 GTS 512s and i'm about ready to sell my 2nd card because theres no reason to have 2.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 04:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 30
Default Re: SLI question

oh idk ill have to see, wats the price tag on the card your sellin
slopy2nds is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 12:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: SLI question

o.O your 3dmark score is enough reason to keep the 2nd one XD
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 08:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: SLI question

u guys think my 520hx can handle another 8800gts 640mb? i've seen prices on ebay for them getting lower, some of them are at the 200 mark...which is fairly cheap...my only worry is the 520w psu and 8x sli instead of 16x
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 08:12 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: SLI question

think u might be pushing it a lil, i no it wouldnt work with a gtx but i think 640mb still be pushing it. those psus have good amount of amps so might be ok im not sure,
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PSU comparison question. manowar New Systems | Building and Buying 4 01-03-2008 12:42 PM
NVIDIA Launching 3 way SLI Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 12-12-2007 09:55 PM
How to tell if SLI is working or not? zerodayATK Overclocking and Modding 5 10-10-2007 08:41 PM
Intel X38 Supports SLI ? maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 09-19-2007 03:37 PM
7800gt sli question Schecters System Upgrades 3 09-16-2007 09:24 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.