Sli now or later? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2005, 06:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 455
Default Sli now or later?

um im planning to get a new gaming computer very very soon, i got all the parts set but i duno if i shoud save a ton of money and get a non sli mobo or juss get a sli mobo and 1 vid card, den wen games come out wit the new unreal 3 engine den get the 2nd card, but im scared that the card will be too old nd instead of getting 1 more to get sli i would have to get 2 new ones that r up to date in the future. so da non sli mobo woud save me alot of money, so i needa kno if all / most good games in the future r really gona be based on sli.
__________________

123Justin is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 06:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Default

sli never!
__________________

efd753 is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 06:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

hahah but later most likely since it doesnt give a good performance increase now or now if your the type that likes to show off or your very rich
__________________
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 06:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Never?
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=79791
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 07:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Truth is if you have no budget and want the best performance then you will probably end up with SLI because IT DOES perform better than one card.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 07:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 224
Send a message via AIM to The Kraut
Default

You could buy a non SLI mobo now and then wait until the new AMD M2 sockets come out and upgrade it from there.
__________________
Better sig coming soon.
The Kraut is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 09:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 455
Default

wuts AMD M2 ?? yea i guess i will go with a non sli mobo, but im hoping it will last me at least 2 years or year and half beccuz im not rich lol. and hopefully something better then sli will come out in the future.
123Justin is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 09:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

amd M2 is the new socket and cpus amd is coming out with
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 10:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Default

003 wat was the point of posting that, if you question the never?
__________________

efd753 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.