SLI motherboard chipset - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2014, 10:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Pudlica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Croatia
Posts: 45
Default SLI motherboard chipset

Which chipset do I need to have to have 2 gtx 760s in SLI does it need to be Z87 or can it be H87?

Tnx for any respond...
__________________

Pudlica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2014, 12:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: SLI motherboard chipset

Your question was answered here already.
Motherboard

Z87 or Z97.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2014, 01:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Pudlica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Croatia
Posts: 45
Default

For Crossfire same?
Pudlica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2014, 02:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: SLI motherboard chipset

You can Crossfire on B85, H87, Z87, or Z97. Crossfire pertains to AMD cards only.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 12:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: SLI motherboard chipset

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pudlica View Post
For Crossfire same?
I thought you said you already has 2 GTX 760's???
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 12:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Pudlica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Croatia
Posts: 45
Default

No, I am buying it, I don't have it yet
Pudlica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 08:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: SLI motherboard chipset

Oh, I would buy a 780 and have a single GPU that way when games get better you could add one and still be able to run maxed out, Not everything supports having 2 either so having a single stronger card would be better.
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 09:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Pudlica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Croatia
Posts: 45
Default

What doesn't support gtx 760 in SLI ?
Pudlica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 12:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: SLI motherboard chipset

Certain games and game engines don't properly support two cards. Then on top of that you have scaling and driver issues. Having two cards does not give you 100% performance increase.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 02:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Pudlica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Croatia
Posts: 45
Default

Do you suggest me 780 or 2 760s, by benchmarks 760s are better, idk, what do you think?
__________________

Pudlica is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
9800 GTX vs. SLI vs. 3-way SLI. vs. Quad SLI veg1992 New Technology and Products 2 05-31-2008 10:59 AM
Radeon Card on Nvidia SLI Chipset Chase New Systems | Building and Buying 3 03-26-2006 08:03 PM
A8N-SLI Chipset Cooler question Ravager Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 01-27-2006 11:08 AM
A8N-SLI Deluxe Chipset Fan Failure Killed My Primary IDE Channel??? Charbo Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 06-24-2005 09:34 AM
DFI "LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR" NVIDIA nForce4 SLI Chipset Motherboard For AMD Socket 939 YanBooth Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 02-07-2005 02:46 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.