SLI Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2010, 07:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default SLI Help

I just received my 2nd GTX 260.

I have installed it and the drivers and have SLI enabled in my control panel along with Physx

when I go to play a game I get flickering red lines and flickering textures that look horrible....when I disable SLI....everything is fine
__________________

__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 01-21-2010, 08:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: SLI Help

try switching the cards around in the slots. test the second GPU for artifatcs, that's what it sounds like.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 01-22-2010, 08:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: SLI Help

What driver are you using?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-22-2010, 12:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: SLI Help

Ok.....I turned the sli bridge around and swapped slots with the cards and it is now ok.

The temps are better on the cards with them swapped around too.

I think the 2nd card was not seated right, but I am not positive...but it is working now.

I do have a few questions though......when I run the benchmark for Batman Arkham Asylum, I get the following results

1 card 41 frames minimum 101 frames maximum 71 frames average

2cards 32 frames minimum 92 frames maximum 62 frames avereage

Here are some Clear Sky Shots
SLI with 2xAA


SLI No AA


1 Card No AA


Batman Arkham Asylum has a profile in the control panel, so I am assuming it supports sli....I am using the new 196.21 drivers

Farcry 2 also seems to support sli, and the frames show that as well.

What mode of sli is best for games....force alternate frames or nvidia recommended....that is what I am using.

OK....after some research I have found out that Batman Arkham Asylum
does indeed play better with one GTX 260 as just a PhysX card.

The following benchmark was done at 1920 x 1080....2XAA..16XAF....All other video settings set to the maximun setting allowed and the PhysX setting to the highest allowed....so i guess this is pretty impressive considering this game is better not utilizing SLI.
__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 01-22-2010, 02:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: SLI Help

^ I get about 68FPS with my single GTX 260.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 01-24-2010, 02:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: SLI Help

The new Stalker game benchmark scales very well in sli....matter of fact, in the last leg of that benchmark with the sunshafts....there was times when it would bring both GTX 260's to their kness....lol

With one card you could see all of the vegatation and stuff popping before your eyes, but in sli, most everything was already drawed out and very smooth.....I wish all games scaled this well as this is very nice indeed.



__________________

__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia SLI for P55 philbar71 New Technology and Products 2 08-13-2009 06:47 PM
List of News Prototype New Technology and Products 4 10-29-2008 04:29 AM
SLI ready RAM? Is it any better? What does SLI mean for RAM? StealthTools Overclocking and Modding 12 04-17-2008 09:27 PM
SLI + Dual Monitors WORKS.... Black Falcon 921 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 03-22-2008 10:34 AM
NVIDIA Launching 3 way SLI Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 12-12-2007 09:55 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.