To SLI or CrossFire or maybe neither - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2008, 11:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NashVegas, TN
Posts: 3
Default To SLI or CrossFire or maybe neither

I am currently looking into building a DREAM GAMING system... My current System is over 4 yrs old and time for a new one... I have about a $2000.00 (+,-) budget

I have been reading this forum for about three weeks and I get so many different ideas about GPU... First of all I have Dual Monitors and I love to have them for my new build... From what I have read the SLI does not do this and Crossfire does.... Is this true??? Also with all the different types of motherboards out there. What would be the best choice for this set up?? And what is up with having three PCI exp. slots??? Is this for three GPU???

In the past I have always been a fan of the AMD, but it looks like Intel has got their stuff together so this motherboard will probably be an Intel as well... as for the CPU, would you just stick with the Q6600 or get the newer version like the Q9550, Q9450, Q9300, or the Q6700?

I am one of these guys that will spend big at first but want it to last several years.... Or until the system can no longer support the games that I play... and Yes this system will be for gaming...

It looks like the GTX280 is the highest ranking card out there... I know buying two of these would be an overkill but it is only money... But at the same time if it won't dual I am really not that interested, but might sacrifice depending what the majority says... Also I wouldn't mind buying 2 hd4870 and to bad the 4870x2 are not out... Thanks in advance for any input...

IGotUbaby is offline  
Old 07-29-2008, 12:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
myowngod's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 286
Default Re: To SLI or CrossFire or maybe neither

My understanding is dual screen is a Crossfire thing...

a p45 or x48 mobo - the x48 supports a dual 16x while p45 is 8x when crossfired... marginal increase in performance...

My q6600 is at 3.5ghz right now and i see no need to go higher for any reason right now - so for price/performance ratio.. no need to go higher end...

The new intel chips are right around the corner - seeing as how you have a system already - wait for that - the 2000 budget you have will be able to afford you a nice system with the latest tech - only reason i didnt wait was I needed a computer now and had no back-up...

myowngod is offline  
Old 07-29-2008, 10:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NashVegas, TN
Posts: 3
Default Re: To SLI or CrossFire or maybe neither

Cool deal... Thanks, I was hoping some more feedback

I could probably wait for the new CPU... I guess I could start collecting other components for the build
IGotUbaby is offline  
Old 07-29-2008, 11:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
Peter.Cort's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: To SLI or CrossFire or maybe neither

thing is if you wait you'll have to wait for a board too cause the x58 platform (which is nehalem compatible) is a new socket. So you'll need to get the mobo/cpu together. also just go with a 4870 and an x58 crossfire board, and if you feel the need to drop a second one in there, go for it.

also what size monitors do you have?
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 07-29-2008, 11:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
myowngod's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 286
Default Re: To SLI or CrossFire or maybe neither

Well - the new chips will use a different socket - requiring an x58 mobo - and ddr3 ram - so the only thing you can really get right now would be a and maybe a psu... (might as well wait for the gpu as they will either be cheaper or have something newer out by then) -

So either get something nice now and upgrade later - or wait...

I went with the nice build now - I can easily run anything i want that is out now and will be out without trouble - since hardware and software never seem to be on the same level (we get 4 cores, sli or xfire, and 64bit, but only a small percent of programs can utilize these things...) - I don't care to always have the newest and best... cuz chances are.. its not needed... I'll upgrade to a new mobo/chip/ddr3 when they are cheaper.. and when the (PROVEN) performance gains warrant the added expense.. obviously you can build a pretty slick system for 1700 (and under.. my system with everything was a little over 1600 after rebates...complete build including OS/keyboard/monitor/etc.. all brand new) now... or in a few months... that might only afford you a marginal performace increase while costing hundreds more...
myowngod is offline  
Old 07-29-2008, 11:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Over and Above Person
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 714
Send a message via MSN to Ric0h
Default Re: To SLI or CrossFire or maybe neither

I'd just wait since you are planning to spend a load.

and since your going to spend a load, you might as well buy new monitors too. I assume they are 4 years old.
ANTEC 900: Gigabyte Ga-Ep35-DS3P : THERMALTAKE (700 watts) :
4 GB G.SKILL 1000 mhz Intel Quad Core (Q6600)
WD 640 and 22x DVD burner
Ric0h is offline  
Old 07-30-2008, 07:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
kobe24's Avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: To SLI or CrossFire or maybe neither

only sli/crossfire if ur goin highres or dual screen. if ur not go one gtx280 or onr 4870 or if it comes out b4 u buy a 4870x2. for the cpu i would get a q6600.
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 07-30-2008, 11:04 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
NightSurge's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: To SLI or CrossFire or maybe neither

I know someone else said this, but kobe may have confused you. Get SLI or Crossfire for High resolution gaming on one monitor. If you want to utilize your dual monitors, you have to go Crossfire as SLI is limited to one monitor.

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 07-30-2008, 08:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
veg1992's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: To SLI or CrossFire or maybe neither

SLI can't do dual monitors, unless you have a cheap PCI card that runs off that

Crossfire does support Dual Monitors natively...

1920x1200 or higher is when we recommend Crossfire.. otherwise forget Crossfire
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.

.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-31-2008, 12:28 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NashVegas, TN
Posts: 3
Default Re: To SLI or CrossFire or maybe neither

your right about the the monitors... the are over 4 yrs old... both are 21" CRT... they were real good back in the day... but one of them has the picture shimmering on the bottom, but still usable.

I was at wally world and notice there huge LCD and plasma having computer hook ups... I can only imagine hooking up a couple of 35" or bigger... So what do you think about those??? Already did a search really didn't see anything in the forums except for 30"s

IGotUbaby is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SLI or Crossfire insane84722 New Systems | Building and Buying 38 07-15-2008 02:10 AM
SLI or Crossfire Metalice New Systems | Building and Buying 10 05-09-2008 12:43 PM
SLI ready RAM? Is it any better? What does SLI mean for RAM? StealthTools Overclocking and Modding 12 04-17-2008 08:27 PM
Intel Skulltrail with SLI and Crossfire Support Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 17 01-15-2008 02:32 AM
HD3870 vs 8800GT single card (no SLI / Crossfire) Eclipse7 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 12-14-2007 09:10 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.